Kiting in Gale Force winds...Welcome to Cape Town

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I've been kiting for 10 years now, and yesterday was by far the most intense session I've ever had. The day seemed normal at first with around 25 knots winds (which is ideal for kiting) and having only packed my 8m2 kite, I thought I was golden. However, once we started rigging I knew the wind had picked up - it was so powerful it was literally sand-peeling my skin. Even standing up was uncomfortable.

IMG_20180125_192830.jpg

Once I actually got onto the board, I was pushed involuntary and felt I had little control beyond simple steering and making my way down the beach in a zig-zag. Needless to say, we ended the session fairly quickly - I'll wait a couple of days before trying again. On a positive note, this weather is going to be awesome for people competing in King of the Air which is scheduled to start here tomorrow. These guys are crazy, with jump reaching as far as 15-20 meter in the air - check it out: https://www.redbull.com/za-en/events/red-bull-king-of-the-air

PS: Curious about kiting? I wrote an entire "how to become a kiter in 54 hours" post here:
Why kitesurfing became my obsession
Learn how to kite - Part 1
Learn how to kite - Part 2
Learn how to kite - Part 3

IMG_20180125_142140.jpg

IMG_20180125_150837_1.jpg
The downwind crew - Hanging with traveling kiters and fellow Scandinavians Venke and Helena

IMG_20180125_145138.jpg

Sort:  

I love your post ! Amazing photos,flawlessly written.my insight does not mean much, but it's from the heart ! I will keep following you :)

THank you @qredrag - I will check out your posts too. Everything from the heart means alot :)

Beautiful scenery
I want to go there ...

very good, I nice

Hehe, sounds like it would have been a bit crazy to try and get up in those kinds of winds. There's always tomorrow :)

Wow its a very beautiful place

Du må lære meg å kite! :)

Great post! Be careful out there!

Ser jo veldig idyllisk ut! Får håpe vinden løyer litt så det blir nye kitemuligheter! :)

Håper på tirsdag :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98