A Food Lover's Guide to La Paz Mexico!

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! Call me a food lover as I always have food on my mind and the first thought of the day is probably food! Whenever I travel somewhere I make sure to dedicate time visiting the most popular places in town and try a variety of food from the region. This is probably one of the things I enjoy the most about traveling besides learning about the culture, art and seeing the wonders of every place I visit.  I love to talk about food and taking pictures of the food to then share it with others. I feel that good things are meant to be shared with others. During my visit to La Paz, Mexico I was able to try a few restaurants and dishes I would like to share with you today.

La Paz is well-known for seafood. The food from La Paz consists mainly of seafood because it is a port and fishing is a big thing in La Paz, but you can also find the typical traditional Mexican dishes. Some of the dishes include stuffed clams, grilled fish fillet with grilled shrimp and bacon, fish and shrimp tacos and believe it or not hot dog are a huge hit in La Paz. Hot dogs are called “hates” as this is how the locals tried to translate the word hot dog. After a late night out the locals will go to a hot dog stand for these “hates”. It reminds me a lot of Downtown LA, where this is also very popular.

I love seafood so La Paz is a perfect destination for me! One of the first things I do as soon as I get out of the airport is ask the taxi driver for recommendations of the best places to eat. I believe that the taxi drivers always know about the best places for food as they know the area more than anyone else. Sometimes I am surprised that the best place to eat may not even be a fancy restaurant but a small stand where only the locals eat as they are the ones that know about it. This is why besides looking at my trusted Yelp and Trip Advisor I always check with the taxi drivers where ever I am visiting.

El Toro Güero

 One of the places that was recommended to me is El Toro Guero. This is a restaurant located on the main Blvd. with a palapa style beach décor.  The restaurant is very big and remains busy throughout the day. They offer mainly sea food dishes, but also offer a few traditional dishes as well such as tacos, meats with rice and beans and quesadillas. One of the thing is liked about this restaurant is that is very lively. There are bands, singers, folkloric dancers that come and perform during the restaurant hours. So if you like to see a show as you are enjoying your meal this is a good place to visit. The dishes selected for my visit to this restaurant were camarones a la cucaracha, which sound horrible as it translates to cockroach style shrimps, but they are delicious. They are so full of flavor due to all the spices that are added to the broth that comes with these shrimp. We also tried a shrimp broth soup, which is given to everyone as it comes with every dish and this is so delicious. Since the shrimp tacos are so popular here I decided to grab an order of those as well. These are served with rice and potato salad. I really enjoyed these tacos as well. For drinks we went with the traditional chelada beer and piña colada. One of my favorite things is dessert. For desert I chose a tequila coffee ice cream. I love coffee and love ice cream just as much and with this addition of the tequila it was simply a fantastic way to end the meal. The best thing is that after 2 main entrees, 2 shrimp broth soups, 2 desserts and 2 alcoholic beverages we ended paying ONLY $22 dollars. I thought this was amazing and just made me happy to go and explore other restaurants!

 El Rancho Viejo

I am from Mexico so whenever I get the chance to visit Mexico I do like to have some of the traditional dishes. For traditional dishes a great recommendation is Rancho Viejo. This restaurant is well-known for meats and is open 24 hours a day. This is a spot that will be quite busy after a late night out when people are looking for some tacos. Here I tried the queso fundido with chorizo to start. This is a cheese fondue with chorizo, which was amazing! Another thing I had was the al pastor tacos, which were really good. I love marinated pork so always order al pastor tacos wherever I go! To do as the locals do we decided to get some shrimp tacos here as well and they were pretty good too.  I can honestly say I had the best margaritas at this place! We ordered 2 traditional margaritas and asked for some added cucumber and jalapeño to makes them spicy and they were fantastic! I love the new tequila 7 lenguas to go with it! Highly recommended! One of the best things about this restaurant is that  table gets a tray with different salsas, guacamole and chips. This was a great addition to our dishes! Overall it was very good and the check was only $34 dollars. 

 

During our tour to the island Espiritu Santo we  were able to try some ceviche, which I love. Since there are no restaurants in this island, the tour guides came prepared with food and provided us with some ceviche, which just made the tour so worth it and we had a very enjoyable time at the beach! 

I love food so much that even before catching the plane to go home I try to grab a last bite of the local food. This time I was running late, but decided to grab some local food at the airport of La Paz. It's not every day I get to eat this so I like to take advantage of it! From here the dishes we tried were good although not as good as in the centwe of La Paz. We tried the green enchiladas, nachos with steak and chilaquiles with short rib. This was my last nite before coming home. 

Overall, I had a good food experience and from mend these restaurants mentioned here. Hope you enjoyed this post! 

Till next time! 

Follow me @travelista

 

Sort:  

Food Looks Yummy! keep these food post coming @travelista ;)

Thank you! Love the picture! 😂

Hi, I think your review is really good. I liked the pictures in the post. It sounds like you enjoyed it.

Thank you! Good to hear this and yes definitely enjoyed it 😁

Wow! I just woke up and actually not eat much in the morning but seeing those pictures really made me hungry.

Thank you @tarekadam! It's wonderful to see that I can share thins with people fp multiple countries! Happy to see you liked it.

That's it. Papa's heading to Mexico!

👏 just what I wanted! To inspire you!

Thanks for the inspiration.

I apparently have Baja on the brain. This is the second story I've read tonight taking place there; the other was about whale-watching. I'd like to spend time on both sides of the peninsula. I'm inland now and missing fresh food from the sea--the ceviche my landlord made in Nicaragua, the grilled fish I ate in the Yucatan. Thanks for the reminders.

Yes, I wish I would have had the opportunity to swim with the whale sharks from there, but they are found mainly during December to March so I missed it! My pleasure ! Hope you are able to spend some time on both sides of the peninsula! The food from yucatan is my favorite actually!

We were in the Yucatan at the wrong time for whale sharks as well, but it's a different time of year than La Paz. Have you been to Isla Holbox? We spent about a week there. That's the departure point for a lot of whale shark trips. We had a lot of good restaurant meals in the Yucatan, except some were too salty, and asking for no salt didn't seem to make a difference.

Well, hopefully we get to go on the right time next time! Yes, Holbox is beautiful and so ecological! Love the cabana hotels here! I didn't get to swim with whale sharks, but that just gives me an excuse to go back as this is very popular here! I like to take trips starting at Merida down to Holbox, Cancun, Islam mujeres, Playa de Carmen , Cozumel and Tulum. Once I even got down to Belize. It's all so nice here. Ohh that's too bad as there are some wonderful dishes here like cochinita pibil, papatzules, panuchos and sopa de lima. Hope get to have a better food experience next time 😀

The food was mostly good, and I had some excellent cochinita pibil and several wonderful soups. But when we were in Celestún especially I was disappointed in the dinners we had.

Even though my husband would have really liked seeing the sharks, it was definitely the right time of year for avoiding winter or extreme heat, and we mostly wanted to see some ruins and cenotes.

The sargassum was bad, though. It is removed in tourist areas, at great cost, but we weren't living in a tourist area once we settled, and we were only a block and a half from the beach. That stuff stinks when it's decaying!

I understand as I always try to avoid the winter! I wish you the best for your next travels and hope that you get a better experience next time you travel to Mexico! Best to you and your family!

Hey, @travelista, keep on having food in your mind! Your guides because of that are very tasty and interesting!

Thank you! I appreciate your kind words!

This makes our food in the UK look so bland. That drink there looks Amazingly refreshing!! Looking forward to more awesome food posts :)

I'm getting hungry just looking at this stuff! ;)

Just read your post on Sedona as well... it is one of my favorite places! I'm now following :)

Thank you! I am glad you liked that post! I appreciate your support! Sedona is one of my favorite places too! 😀

Hi @travelista I’m planning to travel on those exotic places hopefully this year

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94