A Year of Adventures in Review

in #travel6 years ago

Hi everyone!

 I just joined the Steemit community and thought I would share some of my photography with captions to tell you all a bit about the last year of my life.  Enjoy!

Some pics from climbing mountains and snowboarding down them in Iceland last May:

1b.jpg
My fresh corn tracks on a mountain in northern Iceland on the Troll peninsula.

1c.jpg
My friend Mark Koelker riding off a peak in northern Iceland with clouds covering the Greenland Sea in the background.

After that I flew to Europe and spent a bit of time in Spain:

1d.jpg
Watching a traditional Flamenco performance in downtown Seville, Spain.

Then I took a boat across the Strait of Gibralter from Tarifa, Spain to Tangier, Morocco:

(
Bab Boujlod or the "Blue Gate" to Fez, Morocco's medina. This ancient city was built in 800 CE with a still functional wall surrounding the city. Inside are over 9000 winding pedestrian only streets. Originally the medina was designed to confuse invaders. Now the streets are lined with cafes, mosques, street venders beyond count, museums, and private homes.

1f.jpg
Morocco is 99% Muslim and I visited during Ramadan last year so alcohol was on the down low. However myself and a couple tourists found this underground bar with painted black windows and doors in William Burrough's old haunt of Tangier....

After this two month long trip through Iceland, Spain and Morocco I returned to the US to work for a bit. When I got a week off I jetted on down to the Baja peninsula in Mexico for some diving and sun bathing.

1g.jpg
A ton of fish near a wreck I was diving in a remote part of the Sea of Cortez between the Baja and mainland Mexico.

Then I traveled to the Yucatan for a bit where I visited Chichen Itza on the Seven Wonders of the Modern World and did some diving in the cenotes and underground cave networks of the Yucatan.

1h.jpg
Chichen Itza

1z.jpg
Diving in an underground cave network in the Yucatan peninsula.

I returned to the US for a bit to work again and then departed the US again for a couple months in southeast Asia:

1i.jpg
Enjoying roasted duck noodle and a cold Tiger beer in Singapore's China town.

1j.jpg
Hiking in the Komodo Islands of Indonesia.

1o.jpg
Sunsets over Flores, Indonesia in the Celebes sea.

1k.jpg
Diving in Raja Ampat, known as the "Four Kings" in English. This is in western Papua and is the place that most ocean biologists believe original eukaryotic life first evolved. This special place has greater biodiversity than anywhere else on Earth.

1l.jpg
An Octopus I found while diving Apo Island in the Philippines.

1m.jpg
Secret waterfalls on the Philippino island of Dumaguete.

1n.jpg
Philippino sunsets on the remote island of Siquijor just north of Mindanao.

1p.jpg
A small hidden divebar in downtown Tokyo.

1q.jpg
Downtown Shibuya neighborhood of Tokyo, Japan. A crazy place full of lights, crowds, food, drink, and general craziness....

1r.jpg
Ramen noodles with pork, shrimp, and coriander in Tokyo.

After that I moved to Washington state for a travel nurse assignment and have spent the winter here backcountry snowboarding:

1s.jpg
My friend Justin Frechette skiing off Ptarmigan ridge on Mt. Baker in northern Washington.

1t.jpg
Enjoying a topless skin on Mt. Rainier.

1u.jpgI just spent a week in the Baja again. Here is a picture of playa Balandra from one of the hills overlooking it in the central Baja.

1v.jpg
Lobster dinner on the beach last week in Cabo San Lucas just before I flew home for the last week of work on this contract.

1w.jpg
My passport is almost full! I will fill it as I travel through the Alps, north Africa, and the Middle East over the next couple months. One week and then I am on the road.

Thanks for reading and look out for my upcoming adventures here!

Sort:  

Nice one. Guess you did more in 1 year most people do in 10 year :-)


Welcome to Steem @travelinzach.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

woow, i wish i had a passport like you.
I just go once or twice a year in hollydays. But i have the beautiful mountains here and go almost every weeked snowboarding. Hope to see more of your content!

Your travels look amazing. I can't wait for my road trip this summer from Alaska, 50 days and no expectations :)

Nice to meet you
Dear.@travelinzach
welcome to steemit. we are very happy with your joining
i liked your pictures
Follow me @mistersteem
for Free upvotes
Followers
&
Resteem your future posts
your steemit Name is nice@travelinzach
giphy (3).gif
Please Read my Posts & UPvote
@mistersteem

Welcome here great to have u keep posting here and keep making good traveling posts dear those dishes are looking😋😋😋 can you send me a parcel😂 lastly from now on I will upvote and follow ur post I hope you will do the same... let's grow together after all we are family 😄

Welcome to steemit @travelinzach. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Congratulations @travelinzach! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60385.18
ETH 2658.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47