The annoying passengers on my flight to Vietnam

in #travel7 years ago

rear-seat-1024x683.jpg image source
Travel by plane is very common nowadays and I’m sure everyone has encountered different types of passengers on board especially those who have seated around you. This is a little story about a couple of annoying passengers who sat beside me while I was on a flight from Malaysia to Vietnam. The story goes like this…

I was entering the plane on a queue with my passport and boarding pass in my hand. When I reached the door of the plane, I hold up my boarding pass to look at the seat number assigned which was 14D. I was considered the first batch of passenger boarding so there wasn’t a big jam in the walkway. I quickly go to 14D and double checked my seat number and sit down after I put in my backpack in the compartment above me.

Note: Row 14 is located beside the emergency exits at the plane wings and the estimated journey time from Malaysia to Vietnam is 3 hours. (It’s considered as a very short flight)

The Wrong Seat!

14D is an aisle seat at the middle section of the plane(there were only 6 seats in a row with because it’s a low-cost airline) and there was no one beside me yet. After about 5 minutes a lady at her early 30s walking towards row 14 and she immediately told me that her seat was 14D and I have sat in the wrong seat. I showed her my boarding pass and it’s written correctly that I seated at the right one. Then she took out her boarding pass and she realized she made a mistake. Then came her boyfriend, they were supposed to sit beside me.

“Can you move inside? Because we don’t mind”

I quickly stand up and let them go into the middle and window seat, the man(her boyfriend) told me that he doesn’t mind if I move into the window seat. It was an awkward question to ask, right? I would’ve asked if I wanted to, I prefer to sit on the aisle seat which was my assigned seat number. I let them went inside to the window seat. The man was sat between me and his girlfriend.

Emergency Exit Rules

So there’s a rule that emergency exit row doesn’t allow to put luggage or bags under the seat in case of emergency. The man has a normal size backpack and he put his backpack under the seat in front. The flight attendant saw that and kindly asked him to put that under his seat instead of the seat in front due to the emergency exit. He tried to put the bag under his seat but it just can’t fit, I don’t know how long he had been trying but the cabin crew suggested him to put in the compartment above and he refused. But at the end, he had no choice because the backpack just doesn’t fit under his seat.

The Undresser

After the plane took off, the couple started taking off their shoes and even socks! Honestly, I don’t mind people taking their sneakers and socks off if there’s no bad smell. (luckily they don’t) But it’s better if you hide your shoes and socks somewhere people couldn’t see instead of laying your bare foot out and stretching your toes.

Rear Seat Kicker

After a while, the lady lifted her legs and rest her barefoot and push to the seat in front. Plus, the couple had been moving around and had changed a lot of pose like Buddha-sit, slouching and all during the journey. (too much of motion!)

Bathroom Jockey

I was reading a magazine and the man half stands and cross his leg above me and went to the bathroom. I thought it would be nice if he tells me and I would stand up and give him the way. It’s a low-cost airline, the seat is really small and the best way if you want to go to the bathroom is to tell the person and people will let you go instead of a cross over without notifying. (I wasn’t asleep though) You know what, the same thing happened after he came back from the bathroom, he immediately slipped into his seat where I don’t even have time to stand up and let him go in.

In the end, I arrived at the destination. I have taken a lot of flights before and seen a lot of passenger with different habits, but I thought this is the first time I have seen so many habits in just two passengers.

What kind of passenger have you seen before?

Upvote and Resteem if you like.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by travelingtaka from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Got it. People can be crazy. People can be too impractical at times. It can be funny and also annoying. I try not to care too much but I do like dialog to discuss differences and everything. We can see things differently. We should take the time to consider other positions from other people but we do not do that enough. Thanks for the story. I am American and I live in Saigon, Vietnam now.

Hey, nice to meet you. Yea since the flight was only an hour, so it was more like a funny situation and a good story and it reminds how I should behave too. I recently visited Vietnam for 3 weeks and I really love it there, stay tuned for my photos!

It's alright because it was only 3 hours! haha Have you face any annoying passenger before?

3 hours can be a long time under these circumstances :D
yes, but most of the time it was just drunk people being annoying nothing as bad as your experience

Well, actually I have never seen drunk people on a plane before.

I see them on almost every flight :D maybe it's just my luck

Maybe you have some epic story to share with me! Write a post about it.

Congratulations @travelingtaka! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Just a lack of respect! People don't realize that on planes there is little space, everyone is squeezed in and you need to respect the people next to you!

Since you're a flight attendant, I'm sure you have seen a lot of different passenger than me!

A lot worse behaviors than the one described in your post also! haha

I knew it, but my point in this post is to bring out various bad habits in only 1 person.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63