Why you should visit Mostar, Bosnia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

If it wasn’t for previous life experiences a pile of mortars, shells, and bombs sitting outside my hostel might have scared me off. Luckily it didn’t and I was able to discover the beautiful, serene, and slightly shot up city of Mostar, Bosnia.

Before we begin this photo journey I must start by saying the journey to Mostar isn’t for the faint of heart. You’ll get to see some of the most beautiful Mountain views in all of Europe but you’ll also passs bullet riddle houses, and drive on the edge of a few very tall mountains, however the slight risk is all worth it.

Mostar is a quite city with a beautiful stream running through its center. At night the streets are quite and safe. It’s an undiscovered tourist destination through and through!

2610793F-204A-4B30-829C-98E0398FC767.jpeg
The most known attraction in Mostar is the Stari Most. An ancient bridge dating back to the 16th century. After the Bosnian War the bridge was left in shambles but repaired via funding from the Turkish government.

1FAB80D8-F2EF-470F-9643-670B619B19AD.jpeg
Pulling back from the bridge a bit reveals the Neretva River cutting through the center of Mostar and supplying ice cold fresh mountain water. Perfect for a mid day swim on a hot day(you can also jump off the bridge into the river).

52F71E68-9C07-48D5-9311-B67BB699C758.jpeg
Old Mostar, an ancient area built up by the Ottoman Empire and still very much alive! The people here are extremely welcoming and the prices are AWESOME! Just don’t say your Serbian.

DCA66650-9FA7-4A8C-A2D5-BB3F144FFDF6.jpeg
Due to the War many shot up buildings like this one still remain. Sadly the majority of the War was fought in Bosnia and the funds to fix everything up just aren’t there.

3145C03C-9200-4640-9E24-067A8486B855.jpeg
The collection of ammunitions found during the construction of the complex I stayed in. They were long ago defused.

Sort:  

looks like Donetsk

I could see the same situation happening here

Great place!

Yea, it’s lovely 😊

Great photos and a great blog with excellent information. I will definitely go to this
place one day. This is the first post of you which I read and I loved it. I am going to read every past and future posts of you. I hope every
post will be as good as this one.@travelersmemoire

Thanks! I hope you make it out to Mostar one day 😊

please upvote back sir.i am always your post upvote.

I did. For future reference it’s a bit uncouth to outright ask for votes though.

thanks friend.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 23:58:52
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 136.75/200.00
Total Photos: 26
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I enjoyed your article a lot, accompanied with great photos, but I'm curious. Why do you think that people from Mostar are unwelcoming to Serbian people?

Anyway, I, m glad I read it, and I will continue to do so, keep up the good work. :)

Thanks! Based on my very limited exposure there’s still a lot of bad feelings left over from the Bosnian War. At least when I went five years ago that was the case.

That place is so beautiful.

Yea, it’s an amazing city 😊

This post has received a 33.58 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @travelersmemoire.

That bridge is awesome! And the fact that you're allowed to jump from it and go swimming makes it even better. Sounds like a great place to visit.

Yea, it a very chill place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87