10.06.2017 Vietnam, Hanoi

in #travel6 years ago

At 1 PM I have my appointment at the tattoo studio, allowing me to become extremely nervous beforehand. I did some reading up on how to reduce the pain during the session, and the main recommendation is to drink lots and lots of water. So all night I've been drinking water, causing me to go to the toilet every 15 minutes.

Excited I walk into the studio, trying to keep my sweaty armpits and shaky knees hidden. The session will be about five hours, on the feet, supposedly one of the most painful places on the body. Xuong, my tattoo artist, greets me friendly and for the next hour, he is focussed on getting the tattoo perfectly fitting on my feet. One of Xuong's colleagues walks by, he has a compass tattooed on his left knee, I stupidly ask him how painful it was. He answers with a big smile 'Oh, yours will hurt much more'. Let's do this.

For the next five hours, I go through all kind of emotions. Happiness, anger, appreciation, rage, pride, sadness, acceptance, denial. Below a small sketch of thoughts during the session:

'This will be worth it!'
'Will it? No, it won't. Let's stop!'
'I can't stop with half a circle already tattooed on my foot.'
'Oh really?'
'I could always come back another time to finish it up...'
'Stop it! You know you'd never come back'
'Do these guys think I am badass now?'
'Probably not'
'What would my face look like right now?'
'Hey, not one of the employees here has a tattoo on the feet! This should be a sign'
'Maybe, I'm kinda badass'
'AAAAAAAAAHRGGGG!'
'I can do this'
'WHAT THE FU... THAT FEELS LIKE A HOT KNIFE ON MY FOOT'
'Oh, that looks pretty'

IMG-20180616-WA0007-01.jpeg

Brent, the Jesus-looking-guy with a broken leg who sleeps in the dorm bed next to me, has shown up to keep me some company during my tattoo session. He is barefoot, has long hair and a messy beard and is wearing a shirt with holes. Brent starts rambling about a Vietnamese man on the street giving him money. I can't stop laughing, distracting me from the pain.

In the end, I am incredibly happy with the result and Brent and I go for that well-deserved bowl of phở.

IMG-20180616-WA0008-01.jpeg

Sort:  

Hello There Miss. Pho...!
I salute you for taking a long and hurting process for this gorgeous tattoes.. I hope that Miss.bike won't do anything bad when you try the kick start next time.

what's the meaning of tat-toes?

Hahaha, I like the nickname! You can read all about my latest bike adventures in my new post!
The tattoo is a mandala, in Tibetan Buddhism it would symbolise the cosmos and be the centre point for your attention during meditation. However it is two designs from a friend of mine combined so not really authentic cosmos, mine is more organic.

When you said it more organic.. I am thinking about fresh meat 😁 hahaha, no don't worry.. Won't eat your feet 😋, I have two rose and little spider on my hand, hope that my wife will not ask to have a tattoo now after she read your post... Hahahaha

Haha, you think she will be scared away?

I don't think she will.. But at least she'll be more respected 😂😂😂

Woah...that does look [email protected] worth the pain.
Me:Mom!Can I get a tattoo on my foot?
Mom:Don't try to be a punk. (Then sarcastically repeats my question)
Me:sigh

hahaha! Did you get any?

Wow...Is it permanant tattoo..that much ..you must be some on with too much patience and a determination...I may not even look at the moment giving an injection to others...hehe...

But nevertheless, it looks great...Travel Rana..Are you travel freak...Nice to meet you...and stay blessed...

Hahaha well, halfway I thought 'what if I come back tomorrow and let him finish up the other foot?' but I realised I would never come back and walk around with only half a mandala. So I sat it out, thank you for your comment again ;)

I am still confused with that since it is permanent one it also means you cant erase it, is it? And when you use chappals and shoes that will be covered too...is it so? So was it an absolute necessary...Asking just out of curiosity and I believe you dont mind...Sorry if you feel any bad....

There are temporary ones are available in many tourist attractions, so it was also an option na?

Thanks for the reply..have a nice day

haha yes, it would have been an option to get for example a henna tattoo. However, all my tattoos are permanent. so erassing is not possible.

haha ok, you are not only a travel freak but mad wilth tattoo too.

Incredible tattoo, but now you have to jump like kangaroo all the time. :-)

Hahahaha, thank you! Yes, I wasn't prepared for the amount of times people would ask me 'Could you put your feet together?'.

Both together looks awesome 👍 it must hurt like hell 🔥😬

Thank you! It did but I am so happy with it I've (almost forgotten) about all of the pain ;)

I also want a tattoo but i am apprehend of pain while making of tattoo.images (1).jpeg

Beautiful ohm, lotus and Buddha! I have the lotus as well tattooed on my back, very strong symbols.

Cute design ofcourse that I forget to mention it.

That's incredibly beautiful and big tattoes! Whoaa... @traveleranna... are you sure one bog bowl of pho is enough now? Wish I could see your face while doing this... 5 hours😱now you have something cool. Now I can recognised you by looking at your feet😆

Haha thank you for your sweet and funny comment. Only when I wear open shoes ;) my face while getting the tattoo.... well, it wasn't pretty.

i love this write up! brilliant, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67112.11
ETH 2610.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67