30 Stories - Eighteen - HIKING WITH TODDLERS

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hi everybody,

Thanks to the feedback of @geekgirl I decided to stop the 'one-photo series' and evolve my 30 day challenge into blogging about the adventures we experience and document them with a bit more photos. I hope you like it!

FENNA'S FIRST REAL HIKE

22.06.17-1.jpg

For those who don't know me, I live in a converted schoolbus with my girlfriend, my dog and my two and a half year old daughter Fenna. This summer we spend four months in Norway with our hostel on wheels and these pictures tell the tales of Fenna's first real hike. We met someone who told us that toddlers have the capacity to hike about the same amount of kilometers as their age. In Fenna's case that would be two and a half.

FENNA LOVES TO CHILL

22.06.17-6.jpg

We walked up quite a steep mountain, but sometimes the little one needs a rest and daddy (or sometimes mommy) is the one she can count on to help her overcome her tiredness. She loves to hang on my back when we're hiking and doesn't have the energy to hike herself.

FENNA LOVES MOMMY TOO

22.06.17-26.jpg

Sometimes she just want to be carried for a couple of meters and the fastest way to get her cross a part of the hike is to carry her on our shoulders.

FENNA LOVES SNOW TOO

22.06.17-31.jpg

A patch of snow is nothing Fenna worries about :)

SURPRISE ON TOP OF THE MOUNTAIN

22.06.17-53.jpg

The total duration of the hike was around six hours (3,5 up and 2,5 down) and on top of the mountain was a stone hut with a roof that was easy to climb. We enjoyed the incredible view over the fjords up there and chilled a bit after Fenna's first hike. She did not walk the whole way, but she did enjoy big parts of it. It's so nice to see her conquer rocks to get to the top. For her, every stone is a hurdle she loves to stride.

I never knew that hiking with toddlers would give them so much pleasure!

Don't hesitate to ask me any questions about our life on the road or this series of posts that I am writing.

Cheers!

PS: I changed my 30 day challenge's title into 30 stories, because of the feedback of @geekgirl, she made me realise that my life is quite different from the regular daily 9-5 routine and that I can share some more insights into how we spend our days. As a side-note I must say that I am still quite proud that I am persisting to write daily for 30 days straight.

https://steemit.com/photography/@toocurious/30-reasons-why-day-ten-the-contest
https://busy.org/mountainbiking/@toocurious/30-reasons-why-eleven-biking
https://busy.org/photography/@toocurious/30-reasons-why-twelve-details
https://steemit.com/photography/@toocurious/30-reasons-why-thirteen-friends
https://steemit.com/travel/@toocurious/30-reasons-why-fourteen-the-other-side
https://steemit.com/travel/@toocurious/30-reasons-why-fifteen-connections

Sort:  

Hi! looks like new format was rewarding. Great post as usual. Steem On.

Thanks, yes I guess this is closer to what I am doing in my life :)

Pretty cool! Nice that you changed the format!

I remember those days myself when my parents took me hiking at a very young age. I simply loved it! There was always something to be found and another corner to be explored.

Upvoted and resteemed by the @Climbing-Trail!

The @Climbing-Trail is an account dedicated to give climbing, alpinism and hiking a plattform here on Steemit. It is curated by @HaTo.

Congratulations @toocurious, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 1471 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1502.84. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Cool photos!

Cool photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28