Our first week in Santo Domingo turned NSFW

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

We left right before the elections and that turned out to be a wise decision. She was very nervous, didn't sleep the night before. I've been travelling alone since I was 14 years old, this was actually only the second time I would take a fight next to someone I knew. Part of me likes having company, I don't have to worry as much about falling asleep at the wrong time or my stuff being stolen or misplaced, at the same time I kinda like travelling by myself since I don't have to worry about others keeping up.

She was okay though, during take-off I could see her holding on to the front seat and she wouldn't let go for a good five minutes, but before I knew it she was taking pictures of the clouds, just like I knew it would happen. As we were taking off she told me she had to go to the bathroom and I told her she would need to hold it because there is no seatbelt at the toilet. The pilot turned the belt sigh off and she was off to pee, by the time she came back we were already going down for landing. It's very funny to see such a big woman scared, squeezed my hand during take-off and landing as if that would make a difference during a crash.

◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️

We almost missed the second flight because not only was the departure gate changed at the last minute, but she didn't take notice of the train inside the airport in Atlanta, and even after I pointed it out she still wanted to walk the airport. I told her there was no way in hell I would walk an airport on a timeline to board a plane if there was a train, it turns out she had never been on a train before either, though we made it just in time for boarding after stopping for a cigarette.

distance.jpg

@transbeauty had me book a flight to Punta Cana despite the fact that our destination was Santo Domingo just because the flight was cheaper, when we landed it was raining and our ride to the city was a no show. Knowing Punta Cana is a touristic area I expected there to be some traffic in the airport, but I had no idea the amount of people we would find upon landing. I've seen shorter lines to go through immigration at the Miami airport, and the worst thing is not only was it raining but there was no AC anywhere in the airport.

To get a simple ride to the bus stop became a negotiation, the airport taxis were quoting me from $15 to $35 depending on how rude I was to them and the police guarding the airport were having fun watching me argue for a fair price; at that moment I knew I had made it back to my country.

A two and a half hour drive turned into 4 hours of riding the back of a bus, our seats were next to the bathroom and bulky drunk guy sitting in front of us felt like his flirting had to be witnessed by the whole bus. I will never understand how some people think they can impress others by putting them down. Even if you can get laid by calling someone ugly, would you really want to have sex with a person that can be manipulated like that? At least get one that reacts to compliments and not insults, I guess I am not that pragmatic yet.

◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️

The bus dropped us off near Chinatown and $50 dollars later we were in Santo Domingo, I took the chance to feed her because she only ate the crackers given for free during the flight until this point, we were up and going by 4:00 am and it was about 8:00 pm then. The waitress shows up after having to wave at her for attention with some menus and she leaves, not even a hi/hello, I was back home were waitresses rarely get a tip, back home where the total price is the total price.

We needed a place to spend the night so I had the people at the restaurant call a cab for us and had him take us to a motel. The great thing about motels in DR is they respond to reality, IRL sex has no time. These rooms have all the amenities that one needs to be comfortable for a little bit, and you can check in/out at any time. If you are only going to be using the room for two hours then that's what you pay for.

◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️

I went in the room to make sure we had hot water, AC and internet. Once those things checked out I had the taxi leave and she came into the room. Upon walking in the first thing you'd see ahead was a stripper pole, a love seat to the left and a painting of a naked woman on the right. The AC was controlled by what looked like light switches next to the bed, most of the amenities are placed right next to the bed so you don't have to get up because people go to the motel to get fucked out of coordination and might not even be able to get up for a bit. This was perfect for us, dragging around luggage across countries can be exhausting.

In order to check into one of these hotels you just walk in the room, shut the door behind you and wait for reception to call the room. They will ask how long you wish to stay and whether you want anything else. A small metal door on one of the walls serves the purpose of keeping things discreet in the interactions you have with management since many of their customers are having affairs or don't wish to be recognized for whatever reason. They will ring a bell, you open the little door and hand them the money, they hand you a sealed bag with a couple of towels, 1/4 of a bar of soap, two condoms, two mints to refresh your breath and liquid genital soap in a small plastic envelope.

She didn't seem to mind the sex hotel, even wanted to show me a few moves on the pole. For the first time that night I climbed one of those things, I was surprised to be able to make it to the top without much effort given how tired I was and how many burgers I had for the last 6 months in America.

◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️

I didn't sleep much that night because there was only one setting for the AC and Tiff has a bad habit of stealing the covers overnight. I've seen that stereotype a lot lately, women stealing the covers from men. I have no idea what may be causing this but so far I've experienced it to be true, even chicks with dicks will do it, which really makes me wonder where this is coming from. Whatever the case may be it has to stop. She moves a lot during the night too, many times I've stared at her in the dark wondering whether I wish to continue the relationship because I don't sleep as well anymore, then I remember it's the future and self-inflatable mattresses are a few clicks away.

We woke up the next morning to the sound of the room phone, an alarm to let us know that was as much time as our money could afford us. I had the receptionist call for a taxi and we left for my mother's house. I didn't expect my mother to be home, my plan was to drop off the bags there so we wouldn't have to carry them around the city while searching for a place to stay. But my mother was going out just as we arrived and took the opportunity to ride with us to the supermarket. She asked me to stay in her place, said she would clear out a room for me, when I told her I wasn't alone she went outside and upon taking a look at my girlfriend and saying hi to her she proceeded to ask me whether it was fine if she spoke to my girlfriend. I looked at her and remembered why I wasn't staying with her, then proceeded to tell her that she was already talking to her.

◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️

Luckily Tiff doesn't speak much Spanish, so that conversation didn't last long. We quickly dropped off my mother and continued in our hunt for a hotel. The taxi driver wanted to charge me $20 for a $10 ride, he said it's because we stopped to pick up my mother, but I knew he was being racist.

A lot of people think whites are the only ones that can be racist, they have created this little world in their mind where whites are the ones who benefit most from the way the world is and for that reason since they have more chances to discriminate others based on race they are the only ones that can be called racists. These people think only the one with most power can discriminate, but I ask that they show me how a known discriminator is in any good position to discriminate?

◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️

Whites in DR and in many other places have the privilege of people resenting them because others believe they have an easier life.

Whites also have the privilege of being a TARGET since they are perceived to have more wealth to profit from.

But there's one thing the privilege police doesn't seem to understand about people thinking you have an easier life, they also expect you to do greater things than the rest with these supposed benefits.

◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️

I am glad I am brown, no one expects much from me, except for the privilege police which expects me to take sides from time to time. What they don't understand is that for a mixed person, when it comes down to it, choosing sides is almost like choosing between your parents. Even if you don't like one of your parents, they are still your parents.

Ended up paying the taxi dude $15 instead of the twenty he wanted. They don't use meters to charge you in this country, each taxi company has different quotes and they only go so far within the city. If you are going to take a taxi in DR make sure you have the driver request a quote over radio, that is how you will get charged the least. If they don't request that quote to the base then you are basically at their mercy, they will charge you however much they think you can pay and if you are white that means you are getting charged more.

◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️◽️

I have a bad habit which I need to constantly keep in check, I tend to ramble. I think this post is becoming too long so I will try to quickly summarize the rest of the week.

This is what the view from the hotel we are staying in looks like. It's costing us about $20 a night.

14947542_1825429424342098_8661041661865618017_n.jpg

Had her try her first real coconut and she didn't like the meat from it, said it had a weird texture because it wasn't dry.

14956584_1825432954341745_6079483309548984363_n.jpg

We went on a walk and got to see some cannon from back when pirates were scary on land too

15027594_1827758764109164_4537319280737714975_n.jpg

Then we went down this little beach where only those who want to have their children remembered by Guinness for being born with most limbs should dive in

15037212_1827758807442493_9069229384482143446_n.jpg

We saw another cannon at the beach when this dude decided he was going to show us his cock. I was just looking at a distance, trying to find my peace in the breeze and I guess he took the opportunity to flash my girlfriend. It wasn't just flashing though, because she tells me it took me about two minutes to realize he had pulled it out.

He was basically selling himself, which took me about a minute to understand because I wanted to give him the benefit of the doubt by believing he just took the opportunity to flash because he needed to pee. Later that night Tiff told me that she saw the guy go down to the beach after we got there. Meaning this dude actually got in that filthy water as a way of seducing us into prostitution. Can't blame him for trying to rent it though, biggest one I've seen live to date, no one would want to permanently get into a monster like that so he has to rent to the curious but doesn't get much in the way of repeat customers. I didn't take a picture of the monster cock though, you will just have to believe me. We had to leave the beach because he wouldn't stop the spectacle despite the police truck parked right behind us.

This is the monument right up the hill from the beach

14993473_1827758797442494_1906277017033178942_n.jpg

Supposedly he was a priest who defended the natives that were being mistreated hundreds of years ago by reminding the Spaniards about their humanity

15027646_1827758717442502_3121907111416075049_n.jpg

We took off for the first church in the Americas. When I arrived there I notice the entrance had been moved, then I realized someone was selling tickets to go into the church, which was not done before. I asked the caretaker sitting by the gates whether she was aware tickets were being sold to go into church, she proceeded to explain to me that the church was only a church during mass and it was free to go in during that time. But the rest of the time, according to her, it was a museum you needed to pay entry to access.

She noticed I wasn't liking what I was hearing and she asked where I was from, I told her I was dominican which is the reason why it hurts me that access has been restricted. She replied saying that I didn't need to pay entrance because I was dominican, as if that were to make anything better. I went to ticketing to get Tiff an entry ticket which was about one dollar. Then, as we are about to enter the building I hand the ticket to the other caretaker at the door and she hands my girlfriend a blanket at the time she starts telling Tiff that she needs to cover her legs to go in. I take the blanket from Tiff and threw it back at the lady at the time I say "No!" in the manliest voice that's ever come out of me and walked away.

I was leaving the second set of gates, Tiff is probably confused out of her mind by this point. I didn't want to make a scene but I was wearing shorter shorts than she was and I wasn't given a blanket to cover. Made sure to tell the lady at the first gate she should had warned us before making us buy the ticket and asked her why god, if such thing exists, would give her legs if he didn't want people to see them.

Isn't god powerful enough to give women invisible legs?

I was so pissed that I even forgot to confront her about the real situation. The fact that I was paying to supposedly go into a museum but was being asked to cover up as if it was a church still.

No one was going to humiliate my lover in front of me, in my own country. I was more offended over this than the guy flashing us earlier. But even if Tiff wasn't my lover, even if I was going in there alone, the minute I would had noticed the blankets only applicable to women I would had been out. I take offense to this as I would with any imposition given to men, because things were once imposed on me when people would perceive me to be a woman and I didn't like it. People still try to impose things on me despite being perceived as a male and it's not any better.

We stormed out before security was called on us and went for food. Apparently pizza with corn isn't a thing in the US, which is very strange given that you guys are experts at weird combinations.

15085455_1827758667442507_8555497005482436096_n.jpg

After the meal we sat down for a smoke and snapped some photos of the birds since apparently there aren't pigeons in Florida.

14991905_1827758657442508_2547153484468578260_n.jpg

We've been to a few places since. I try to take her out every day but I work during the week. This last weekend was the first time we got to go on a longer trip and I took her to the mall. Never expected her to be amazed at one of our malls coming from America. But I guess they don't have as many tall buildings where she's from.

15078610_1828176450734062_3750158400941290470_n.jpg

She was googling the symptoms for parasites since she has been struggling with her digestive system for about as long as she has been here and I had to break it to her that we all have bugs. It's normal to experience some issues with your stomach when you travel, it should go away in a few days but that doesn't stop me from worrying about her mother thinking I am not taking care of her.

This is the last photo, I am sure she'll be taking some more for family and friends so I should be posting more about our adventures soon. Thanks for reading!

15056323_1828176274067413_1797902503539710105_n.jpg


✒️ 100% Followback ✒️

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.90 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54