Skydiving In Sydney!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Well Wollongong...

It's a beach town situated about 1-2 hours south of Sydney.

Skydiving is something I've always considered. It was the top choice (for me at least) when asked if I'd bunjee or Skydive. I said skydive every time and never even considered bunjee jumping during my travels. To be honest I never thought I'd get the chance.

however...
image

That's right, I've fallen out of a plane at 15,000 feet!


How I ended up doing it was not as I planned, I wanted to Skydive in New Zealnd originally.

One of our housemates was turning 21 and thought it would be a good idea to go Skydiving at possibly the highest freefall in Australia. Wollongong: 15,000 feet
This was way sooner than I expected but how could I say no.


The build up was quite intense. One week away I said to myself "this time next week I'll be jumping out of a plane".

Then just under a week later it was more like "this time tomorrow I'll be jumping out a plane!"

Both of those combined with a bit more research and watching the jump on Youtube really got my heart going. It didn't help that we had a house party the night before...

Deapite this, we were all in a good (ish) condition to jump:
image
Then the day came and I wasn't nervous at all. Probably because I was still not believing what I was about to do. That was until we arrived and watched the jumpers before us fall from the sky at 100 miles per hour.

"That'll be me in a minute" I thought.

Then it was our turn, I knew once you get in the plane there's no turning back. This was the first time I'd been a plane facing backwards (yes the seat was backwards). I'd never been in a such a small plane before. Since the aircraft had no seats, we all sat on the floor. It was as if they hadn't finished building it and I felt like I was in some sort of rowing boat team! 😅
This all added to the experience.

And the views!
image

When I said Sydney had alot of beaches in my other blog I wasn't kidding.

The whole time I was being filmed, talking to my instructor, I said to him I was trying to elliminate my fear of heights to which he responded "don't worry, I'm scared of heights too."

Great

5 minutes till jump
I laughed and assumed it was another one of his jokes. "Really?" I said. "Then why do you skydive?" He simply replied;

"You're about to find out."

Then it was my turn to jump.
image

3 seconds later...
image
Another 3 seconds
image
(yes I was falling sideways)

Then I felt a tap on the shoulder, it was the signal to put my arms out.
image
From that moment on I felt like I was flying. I could see for miles as the sky was so clear and was amazed by the view as I fell through the clouds.

Then roughly 60 seconds later...

image



Sykdiving is an unbelievable experience, an absolute must if you get the chance. Don't listen to the naysayers. Don't listen to the people that haven't experienced it, nor to people who have done it and found it terrifying because it's not.

Its pure bliss

Honestly I know I look terrified in some of the photoes but I was more amazed than anything. The ground is so far away your eye's can't really register you closing the distance so the ground appears to be getting closer at a very slow rate.

Think about it. When your in an airoplane at high altitude and look out the window, it's as if the plane is barely moving. Well it's the same when you freefall, only vertically.


Skydive Myths

  • You can't breath - What utter bullshit, you can breath just fine. It's like having a cold hairdrier been blown in your face. A little anoying at the most.

  • It's dangerous - It's extremelly safe, you have more chance getting run over crossing the road every day of your life. Think about it.

  • It's terrifying - Nope, it really isn't.


Lastly, I want to thank my instructor for such an awasome experience.

Thanks mate 😎🤙
image

If you want to watch the video, I have a new Youtube channel where you can view it here here

FEAR
Forget Everything And Run
...or...
Face Everything And Rise

It's your choice...

What are you waiting for? 😉

Sort:  

Great post! The first time I went, the worst part was standing at the door waiting to push out but the pure sense of euphoria that followed was amazing.

Thank you. I wasn't actually scared at the door. More scared the day before. Where dis you do yours?

I think it was more the feeling of standing with my feet half out the door and not being able to hold on to anything that scared me the most. The feeling of trust in a complete stranger, I guess. I went tandem by the Rockie mountains in Canada and I went back and got my solo certification the following summer, I was never as scared as my first time though

Nice. I've only done it once. Doing a solo dive is on my to do list 🙄

wow it looks fun ! really want to try

It is! You should!

Omg thanks for this I want to do this .. it looks amazing!!!!

Don't know how you found my post but thank you for voting and commenting. You should do it! I promise you it's not scary. 😊

I found your post in the feed. I will definitely try it.😁

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tomatom from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.38 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @tomatom. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tomatom
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=skydiving-in-sydney-de9a9c334e647


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

I've been to Wollongong but didnt realise there was a DZ close by...not sure how that slipped under my radar haha. I have jumped Byron Bay though in Oz and that had some pretty rad views

#photography
I see where you go, I want to go there too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83