Skanör, Skåne, Sweden

in #travel6 years ago

According to the info table, this is the eldest conserved wind mill in the area (Skåne). Digression: I love the Skåne dialect, it's a bit like Swedish with a dash of Danish sounds.

Photo by tobixen

Here is a row of houses. I don't know much about architecture, but this style doesn't look very typical Swedish to me.

Photo by tobixen

This must be the townhall ...

Photo by tobixen

... and the church right nearby.

Photo by tobixen

The church and the townhall sort of defines the center of a place, but as far as I could see there was very little or no commercial activity in this part of the town. Also, behind the church there wasn't much civilization - so this "center" of the town was also the end of the town. Hm!

Uuh ... what's this? A goose crossing?

Photo by tobixen

Well, here is apparently some commercial activity ... a café/pub, but opens only later today. I do find it unlikely that some wild goose would feed on the small patch of grass at one end of the road and then go see the pub afterwards. Perhaps the pub has some domesticated geese. Or perhaps it's just a marketing gimmick to get people into the pub.

Photo by tobixen

Later on, I also found this. It's quite likely that there are wild birds crossing here.

Photo by tobixen

Photo by tobixen

Photo by tobixen

Speaking of odd signs, the sign in the roundabout here is apparently an odd and interessting sign related to amphibies. Unfortunately, I couldn't quite get there - the road appeared to be the car-only mainroad (there were no signs disallowing pedestrians or bikers there, so technically I could go there without breaking any laws, but it was quite clear that this was meant to be the main road for cars, with another side road to be used by pedestrian and bikers a bit further away. The car road was quite busy)

Photo by tobixen

If I was by feet, I could have gone there aside the road, but I was wearing those ...

Photo by tobixen

It has been like 15 years since last time I used them! (one season I started way too early ... unfortunately I ended up having to cross quite some snow while wearing the skates, and the bearings corroded. I found them recently in my old home town of Tromsø and got them repaired). It was a grand idea to take roller skates with me on a sailing vacation - we have bikes too, but it's far too much hazzle carrying the bikes in and out of the boat, we only do that if we're going to stay long at some bigger place.

Unfortunately, while skating, I always ended up wanting to go to places where it wasn't smart to go by skates. Like, in the end of this parking place there was an unpaved road continuing, would be nice to go that way for a hike! Also, behind those small bathing houses there is a great beach.

Photo by tobixen

The topology here on the coastline is quite special ... lots of lakes, apparently at the same level as the sea. I wonder if those lakes are much saline - with the skates I was unable to go and check.

Photo by tobixen

Yet another nice road that I would have liked to follow if I was by feet ...

Photo by tobixen

Photo by tobixen

Swedish cows. It feels a bit weird to be in Sweden, as we're coming from Denmark and going to Germany.

Photo by tobixen

Some horses

Photo by tobixen

When going by skates, the quality of the asphalt can really be felt - small wheels and no shock absorbing. Quite many of the roads I went on was coarse - a mix of asphalt and pebbles, looks quite fine when walking, biking or driving, but when skating it's quite bad. This road at the other hand, it was the perfect speeding strip for me! Big, nice asphalt, and very few cars.

Photo by tobixen

Photo by tobixen

Unfortunately, not so good quality of this photo, but this seems to be the only supermarket in town (ICA, open from 07 to 22). I also found two petrol stations and a bit of other commercial activity in this area.

Photo by tobixen

Last, a completely unrelated photo, the mandatory above-and-down-photo I took while being halfway up the mast to fix a navigation light.

Photo by tobixen

Selected photos available in original quality on IPFS QmNj26xG8bBLPTn1F7oWHTXwp7MxdeW7feMUk3brxSRKPZ.

Sort:  

the eldest conserved wind mill in the area (Skåne) is so awesome. The designs of houses realy nicem and clean and healthy rnvoirnment looks so nice.

Its wonderfyl collection to show of. Everything is perfect. Looking beautiful. Clean roads. Green plants. Awesome weather and some beautiful designs of buildings. I realy like everything.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tobixen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=skanoer-skane-sweden


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Get More Upvote - FREE

steem.link/sbd

Get 0.1 Steem free on signup !

Wao nice place i like it. thanks for share.

Tanks for sharing some Sweden with me my grandad came from Sweden.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63889.31
ETH 2757.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66