Crossing the Arctic in a vintage plane..

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Here's another brand new short film released today about a trip I made last year in a small aeroplane from Scotland to Canada across the Arctic circle.

I haven't seen any of this footage for a long time since another production company edited the film after I got back from the trip. What struck me the most after watching it today was how much I obviously get affected by a lack of sleep! This trip was very intensive... flying every day whilst trying to shoot a film and then editing photos and video every evening. As a consequence, I was only getting a few hours sleep each night and at various points in the film it REALLY shows.

Nevertheless, the section of the journey that traversed south Greenland was undoubtedly the most incredible flying experience I have ever had in my life. That place is VERY remote... my kind of place. Desolate and raw... cold and uninviting... but exquisitely beautiful...

Having the opportunity to see places that few have laid eyes upon... it is a real privilege that I am extremely grateful for.

day4-003-2.jpg

Phil & Allie's 62 year old Beech 18 cruising over South East Greenland

@timothyallen

Sort:  

Hi timothyallen,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @timothyallen! You have received a personal award!

Steemcleaners Verified Profile
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @jpphotography and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

I will have to check the film out. That last shot looks so epic.

Man ! Thats sounds like a fun trip 🙌🛩️

beautiful trip I really liked the top view of the plane an excellent trip you published, as I would like to feel those 10 days of travel through all countries @timothyallen I really liked what you've done for the movie @neymarth11

What an amazing trip! It was a long video but I've enjoyed every second of it.

What a happy girl flying that hot balloon. It's so rare to see such a wide smile nowadays :)

And that wheel fire! Oh man! I'm glad that it wasn't more serious!

I love that joke that you did with the photo of a great weather while outside it was windy and freezing cold.

Flying in snow in such a small plane doesn't seem like something I would enjoy :)

Poor you coming too early for breakfast. What did you do those 2 hours that you have left?

I love those kids. They had so much fun with drone :) I wonder if they've ever seen such a thing.

It was a great adventure and you guys are so brave to do what no one has done before you. Congratulations on doing this trip! 10 unforgettable days :)

Man, the footage in this video is insane! I would love to see a post with your best shots from this trip and a written travel blog - as much as we would love to consider this post for a full upvote and resteem with @travelfeed, since #travelfeed is aimed to give exposure to written travel blogs, we do require at least 250 words, even when they are accompanied by such a great video.

I'll see what I can do

Wow. What an incredible experience and you edited it so beautifully. I really felt the emotions and the awe of the land.

Ten days travel in a very small aircraft like that! You must be very brave to take such trip! Good thing that the fire on the tire did not get worse. Your shots in Greenland are amazing!

I noticed that you followed the route with lands. Is it because of the small aircraft? Or is it just because you folks wanted an adventure? Can the route be directly from Scotland to Canada over the water if you got a big plane?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40