Visiting temple in Bali with a fresh water spring inside when no menstruation!

in #travel6 years ago

It was difinitely my favorite temple in Bali - Tirta Empul, because of the magical fresh water spring inside. People queued standing inside of the water, to get to the source and wash themselves as it is believed to clean the soul. Lots of Balinese come there with offerings and prayers. Everyone is welcome to come to the spring for ritual purification.

This is what I liked about Balinese culture - they are open for the others. However, when I wanted to come to the temple with host I stayed with, he asked me if I have menstruation. I thought about saying something as inappropriete like asking about his dick, but finally I answered the truth - I had. Woman in Bali is not allowed to enter the temple if she has a period as she is not in a clean mind state. This considers also people which are sick, as they believe it could disturb the rituals. Can you imagine how angry I was when I had to stand one hour in front of the temple and wait for my host to finish?

IMG_9210.jpg

IMG_9214.jpg

Sort:  

That is really a powerful place. We‘v been there 2 years ago.

greetz from Canggu area, where we just had a little meetup with steemians

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70