Breakfast In Nepal: The Doughnut Hole of Death

in #travel7 years ago

While I was staying in Nepal I became very well acquainted with these fantastic, greasy, and amazing bundles of goodness! I never could get anyone to agree on what they were actually called, but that didn't matter because I made up my own names for them.

Obviously, there were "fried rings", which are sweet, crispy, and super fantastic when they are fresh out of the grease filled wok. But the round ball received a slightly different name... "the doughnut hole of death". This just screams of backstory, so here we go.

While I was in Nepal I kept a schedule that was really different from what I am used to. I was up and moving at 5am, out the door before 6am, and walking about 4km. On the way I would pass a tiny local shop where all manner of tasty fried breakfast type things were made beside the road. This particular shop was a husband and wife, and neither of them spoke a word of English.... but food seems to have a way of bringing people together. I started fondly referring to him as my "fry guy" and I would stop by each morning. I'd point at things and hold up fingers, the wife would smile and pack it in some newspaper, then I'd hand her some amount of money and she would return change. Eventually we got this down to a set rhythm.

On the first morning that I decided to try out the funny little balls I fell in love. They aren't sweet exactly.. more lightly salty. The outside is crispy and they are very dense. Even with being crispy and dense they seemed to just melt away as I ate them. Two balls disappeared quickly, followed by the routine cup of sugar-filled Nepali tea. And that is when disaster struck! These tasty little breakfast treats pack a serious punch when it comes to stomach aching and cramping. lol I very quickly dubbed them "the doughnut holes of death"!

20170430_062334.png

You would think that I had learned my lesson on that first morning, but something about those evil little treats kept me coming back every day. Even my kids had a strong love for them... but I think that was partly due to the name I had given them. lol Either way, we enjoyed and regretted our breakfast for two months before leaving Nepal for Malaysia. Sometimes when you are traveling you just find something that keeps you coming back again and again. "The doughtnut holes of death" were absolutely one of those things for me!

Sort:  

sounds delicious! there's a place down the street from me here in Portland that makes fresh hot crispy donuts fresh out of the grease and they are so addictive. I can eat a dozen holes at a time, BUT oh the stomach ache that inevitably follows! You'd think that I wouldn't eat them but I still go a few times a year since the taste is out of this world.

I completely understand this! I had to walk past that shop every morning, and when everything else is closed and you don't have a kitchen there is no way of saying no to that for breakfast. lol There's just nothing like a fresh, warm, greasy breakfast doughnut.

Sort of reminds me of the fried bread sticks they have in this end of china, but those look denser.

I am happy that you enjoyed your time here in Nepal .
its such a pleasure to hear that you love those goodies !
I loved it !

I really enjoyed Nepal. I had spent a month there in 2016 and then four months there earlier this year. It was great getting to know Kathmandu a bit better this time and trying out more foods!

Those doughnuts looks delicious, I'm so sad they turned out to be evil :'D

Yes, I was sad too... but that didn't stop me. lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55