You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Room Where Anna Pavlova Died

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

wow, this is a great place! a time travel back to Victorian times. Not too many hotels like this left.
In Canada, I was impressed by the splendor of the former Canadian Pacific hotels, like Banff Springs or the Empress in Victoria (pictured below), where you can still partake of traditional Victorian Tea Time.
SH105761ps_skew800.jpg
Fairmont Empress Luxury Vancouver Island Hotel
My photo is from 2009 - I see now on their website that they must have removed most of the ivy covering the facade.

Sort:  

Those strange looking pines (or whatever they are), that look like some creatures out of 'Dark Chrystal' may be gone also. The hotel changed hands in 2014, so they may have gone for a new look. Too bad actually, I liked them because of their unique look. There is vegetation on Vancouver Island, in particular Victoria, that you won't find elsewhere in Canada, not even on the mainland BC coast, like the Vancouver area. There is a warm South-Pacific stream that kisses the shores of Victoria, and the climate is decidedly better there than anywhere else. There are palms growing in some gardens. One example you won't find elsewhere in the North-West: the Monkey Puzzle Tree
@corinnaherden: if the 'Wanderlust' ever takes you to North America again, this is the place to visit! I would have wanted to live there, but there was no work for me, so I stayed on the Prairies. But it was a place I visited often - driving 1270 km through mountain terrain on the Trans Canada Highway. Google says just under 15 hrs, but that never happens. There are often rock slides in the mountains blocking the road, and I once waited some 4 hours for the highway to get cleared.
Maybe if fancy strikes me I will post about this area - got tons of pictures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80