Check out the unparalleled beauty of the Western Ghats of India in these images!

in #travel7 years ago

The Western Ghats of India, also known as the Sahyadris or the Benevolent Mountains are the mountain ranges that run parallel to the West Coast of India.

The Western Ghats are renowned for their flora and fauna, and they are a UNESCO World Heritage site, and one of the hotspots of the biodiversity world. Many species of animals, birds, reptiles and amphibians are found here.


They are essential for the well being of the southern states of India. They are important for periodical rainfall, maintaining the biodiversity of the region and act as a giant carbon sink.

I have travelled most of the western ghats and here are some of the sights of this amazing place in pictures:

Hanuman Gundi Waterfalls, Kudremukh National Park.

IMG_7145.JPG

Exploring the hidden trails in Southern Coorg, Karnataka.

20161002_124719-01 (1).jpeg

Agumbe, in the Western Ghats gets the heaviest rainfall in Karnataka. It pours even when it is the peak of Summer!

IMG_4266-01.jpeg

Exploring the road less taken towards the hill station of Kemmangundi, Karnataka.

20161203_115003-01.jpeg

Tea plantations are common sight on the valleys and peaks of the Western Ghats.

IMG_7087.JPG

Looking out into the Kemmangundi Forests in the valley below. The vegetation is lush and the weather is usually fantastic in this part of the country!

20161203_135347-01.jpeg

The Kudremukh Forest Range. Mining in the past has wrecked over 300 years worth of damage in just 30 years here. But fortunately, it has been stopped and Nature is slowly reclaiming her own.

20150102_072044-01.jpeg

Abandoned houses in the Kudremukh Township. It is a ghost town.

20150102_073736-01.jpeg

Morning Walk, Kudremukh National Park

IMG_7319.JPG

The Western Ghats in Kerala state.

20161220_130513-01.jpeg

Ponmudi, the Golden Peak of the Western Ghats in evening.

20161220_155058-01.jpeg

Ponmudi in Kerala is the southern most extent of the Western Ghats. It is a truly scenic view.

20161220_172425-01.jpeg

Periyar Tiger Reserve in Thekkady, Kerala is one of the biggest national parks in the Western Ghats.

20161224_075412-01.jpeg

Hiking the trail in Periyar Tiger Reserve is a great way to see the full extent of the forest and even come upon signs of wildlife!

20161224_111450-01 (1).jpeg

Valpari in Kerala has lush tea plantations in between dense forests. It is not uncommon to come upon Bisons grazing amidst the plantations while on a early morning walk.

20161227_084147-01.jpeg

Silent Valley National Park in Kerala is a gem. It is one of the most prolific biodiversity hotspots in the Western Ghats. The Kunti river is the lifeline of this beautiful forest.

20161228_130006-01 (1).jpeg

The colors of Silent Valley National Park.

20161228_134916-01 (1).jpeg

I hope you liked watching the beauty of the Western Ghats of India in these images. I shot these pictures over many roadtrips I have undertaken in these amazing places. if you enjoyed this article, please resteem and/or upvote. It helps! :)


Check out my other work here:

The beauty of Ladakh from a Bird's eye view

The Bluest lake in the world?

Roadtrip of beautiful Kerala - This is what I saw!


Thank you,

Excelsior!

Sort:  

Hello Batman,
This part of India reminds me of Washington. Especially the falls. I am glad that I find your account. I am going to follow you and try to learn how to become better writer. You are an inspiration to me. If you have any advice how to write such a great posts It would be lovely...
With love,
Lucie

Hi Endijka!

I am glad you are following and hope to learn. I feel happy to know that I am an inspiration to you!...

I cannot give you much advice that you do not already know, but it helps if you can create a theme for your post, and stick to minimal english (not so hard words!), and just write in brief. Use stackedit.io if you want to format your posts so they look nice, and do work on some nice titles for your posts.

The best advice is to write more and more, so you become better!

Cheers! :)

Thank you, Batman, for such a nice answer and suggesting stackedit.io! I didnt know this tool. I ll do my best to follow your advice.
With love,
Lucie

You're welcome, and I am following you too! :)

Hey Batman! Long time... I never got your name... LOL
Lovely pictures... I've been to only a few of these places over the years, but we usually take the road most travelled... lol :P

Ha :P Suhas :)

I usually take the road less travelled to find some places off the beaten path ;)

yea... that is the best way to find hidden treasures :P
we do that sometimes, but with a car it gets a little difficult :)

Indeed, a car is the best mode of transport when you want to hang out with friends and enjoy the trip. A bike is better when you want to explore some places and find new destinations ;)

That is true. I usually travel with my family so we stick with our car :)

Excellent post, Thanks for share.

You're welcome! :)

What an amazingly beautiful place! And your pictures of it all are really great. what is that on the rocks to the left of the waterfall in the first picture? It almost looks like a laptop screen to me.

@fiftysixnorth, that is actually a board. I presume it says "do not get into the water"

I am glad you enjoyed the pictures! :)

That makes more sense! :) thanks!

Beautiful pictures. You got to see some great places on your road less traveled route. Thanks for putting yours trips together to share. Great job.

@beccadeals, I am happy you enjoyed them. Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. Do check out my other posts about some offbeat destinations. Cheers! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59087.19
ETH 2580.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47