You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2017 Europe Summer Trip Breakdown: Open to Meeting Steemit Members in Cities I Visit

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Too bad you skipped Valencia! Could have shown you around. There are always too many options. Take your time to slow down once in a while too. Smell the roses so to speak. Else it becomes a blur of

Making bags-Airport-hostel-touristtrip-drinks-hangover-hung over tourist trip- rush to the airport-hostel-touristtrip-drinks-hangover-hung over tourist trip- rush to the airporthostel-touristtrip-drinks-hangover-hung over tourist trip- rush to the airporthostel-touristtrip-drinks-hangover-hung over tourist trip- rush to the airporthostel-touristtrip-drinks-hangover-hung over tourist trip- rush to the airporthostel-touristtrip-drinks-hangover-hung over tourist trip- rush to the airporthostel-touristtrip-drinks-hangover-hung over tourist trip- rush to the airporthostel-touristtrip-drinks-hangover-hung over tourist trip- rush to the airport

... you get the point...

Sort:  

Actually ... in majority of locations I go to ... I avoid most tourist areas. As I'm working, I usually go to locations and simply meet local people, eat, drink, and talk about life. Of course, I always reserve one day. But yea, I'm not the backpacker person like I was 5 years ago where I'd go to places and get wasted and party. So far, my trip has been slow and relaxing (except the one day in each city where I am tourist). That just sucks haha.

Plus, having airport lounge and fast track makes going through the travel portion so comfortable. Never will I go back to being herded cattle-class wise HAHA.

Who knows ... I should do at least an overnight trip over to Valencia perhaps from Barcelona.

let me know if you do!
Do you do any couchsurfing? I used to do tons in South America but they truly fucked up couchsurfing.org by trying to become another facebook and make a buck

I did a lot of Couchsurfing back in 2010 and 2011 ... but like you said, around 2013, they changed to a for-profit organization, added those dumb Google ads all over the site, and just basically went away from their original purpose. Sadly, I actually met the founders and team members on Maui when I was living on that island. They mentioned that this had to be the way ... but as always I disagree ... I miss the original Couchsurfing website. The people that would be on Couchsurfing were truly the CS spirit ... unlike now .. you get SO many people who are free-loaders and just want a free place to stay.

This trip and last year's round the world, I've been staying at Airbnbs and hotels via points.

ever do housesitting? My wife and myself are starting another cycle of Nomad life in 2 months. We'd like to mix it up, stay for 3 -4 weeks at a time which gives time to do some work and travel a bit around Europe. This time I'd like to do it with a car so that gives more flexibility. Not exactly 30 liter/10kg backpack like last time when I was on my own, but one has to make concessions when travelling in a couple... will gradually progress towards ultralight again I hope!

I am the same way! We went to Greece but we went to a much less popular area and it really made the trip much more memorable! My favorite trips were trips that no one else really took! Got lots of weird looks for wanting to visit Finland! Have family there tho! Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50