Colonia de Sacramento - One of my favorite places so far No plans #3

in #travel6 years ago

Is Sunday already. I am here for about a week, but it feels like a lifetime. I've been around in 2 countries Argentina and Uruguay so far. I hide from the heat trying to make a post.

First of March celebration on a boat to Uruguay

In Romania, we celebrate always the first day of Spring. The tradition is called Martisor and people are starting a frenzy of giving spring flowers and "martisoare" - little handmade gifts on a white and red twisted yarn, the one below is one of my favourite.

Idei-de-martisoare-hand-made.jpg

Credits

It is the celebration of life coming back and we were them all month. Well I must admit I extended the tradition and I have my wire permanent attached to my laptop backpack. To have a spring everyday of my life.

IMG_20180304_152953[1].jpg

Intuition sends me an amazing girl

On the boat from Buenos Aires to Uruguay I took a service called Colonia express. The boat was almost full and I was trying to find a place to sit. I get ride of my luggage and I found upstairs a place with two chairs by the toilet. I just felt I am not in the right place for some reason. I tried to fight the sensation for a couple of minutes and then I just stand and look around to see where else was my place. I found her by the window and I knew that she is my kind. A philosophy student having a break routine to a remote place. I love people that they travel alone, they usually are serene, confident, friendly and with humor.

IMG_20180302_125826[1].jpg

We also had the accommodation on the same street in Colonia de Sacramento, few numbers apart. We decided to walk together from the boat to the hostel/hotel. The journey was less than 10 minutes and we continued with our girl talk. We said that we should have a beer and she told me that she will go to the beach. I sorted out my accommodation (I had to withdraw money as this countries are used to use cash everywhere and paying with card is rather the exception than the rule). I had no idea about the history of the place, but thanks to my wonderful colegues in my last place of work I have a guide named "South America on a shoestring by Lonelyplanet". After 5 minutes of reading I had an idea which is the main beach I want to see and slowly head onto there.

Colonia - the magic place

On the way to the beach I found myself lost in magic of the paintings on the poles. I dont know the name of the artists or the occasion, but is worth not to have internet and data all the time. The place was the long way to the beach :D or the way that the GPS avoid with all costs to show it.

IMG_20180301_151631[1].jpg

IMG_20180301_151533.jpg

IMG_20180301_151543.jpg

IMG_20180301_151601.jpg

IMG_20180301_151635.jpg

IMG_20180301_151747.jpg

IMG_20180301_151750.jpg

IMG_20180301_151809.jpg

IMG_20180301_151814.jpg

All this painting are new as a friend of mine that was there last year told me that they were not there. So the magic was a new born and I guess was trying to bring life and colors to this industrial place. Since I've seen them I knew that the beach will be totally awesome. I had no doubt and I was trying to increase the pace as the sun was a little bit to harsh for me at midday.

Playa Urbana El Alamo

I found the beach and I was sure that I had to be here. It was just my style, nothing fancy, no loud music, a lot of green, a small pub with good cappuccino (at UK prices) and 10 people on the beach. Everyone was has a special and big place under the sun, no need to steep on each other personal space.

IMG_20180301_152555[1].jpg

I decided it fast that is my heaven and I lay on the beach filled with gratitude. I was thinking that my friend from the boat should see this beauty, I kind of felt that is going to be her magic place too. A fortunate stroke of serendipity and she was there nearby. Since that moment we were like glued together and I really felt that we have a special connection, beyond words.

IMG_20180301_155427[1].jpg

Coffee, beer and steemfest2 bag :D to seal the friendship that bloomed on that beautiful place. I told her about steemit, about my project, but we havent done the video yet. Maybe later this life, as I might get back to Buenos Aires to go to Iguassu and Cordoba.

The sunset was as the book said, beautiful, peaceful and breathtaking.

IMG_20180301_185712[1].jpg

We went in the evening to eat in the old citadel and I've done my jumping favorite ritual

IMG_20180301_211611[1].jpg

We said that we should visit the old town during the day, as our phone cameras where not capable to take all the splendor.

IMG_20180301_211351[1].jpg

IMG_20180301_224702[1].jpg

We finish the night with salad, pizza and red wine. A local Don Pascual Cabernet that was pretty good. It was not on my budget but sometimes you need to be wild :D

The story with my new friend does not end here, but maybe old city of Montevideo deserve a chance, now that is 5pm and the heatwave went away. So more of this tomorrow :)

If you want to follow my stories from South America check #noplans tag and here is my last post about Buenos Aires

https://steemit.com/travel/@teodora/buenos-aires-no-plans-day-2

Love, hugs and stay cool

teodora.gif

Sort:  

When will u buy somebody a beer???

I did just I didn't made a video and I felt guilty :)) My hostel is empty, no one to talk to

Awww next time, take usbwith u. A pic will do u know.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=teodora
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=colonia-de-sacramento-one-of-my-favorite-places-so-far-no-plans-3


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Funny picture

Amazing photographey

Great to see your travel posts. How long will you be travelling for?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51