Our Visit to Viking Village on Long Beach Island

in #travel7 years ago

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Viking Village was founded in the 1920”s by a group of Norwegian fishermen who selected the area because it reminded them of their homeland.

In the beginning they planned to fish for whale but it turned out that lobster was more prevalent.

Over the years the lobsters became scarce but by adapting the fishing gear the fishermen were able to fish for sea bass which lasted well into the 50’s.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Over the years the company expanded to include gillet, scallops and longline fishing which is one of the most conservative types of fishing. These boats operate from Nova Scotia searching for yellowfin and bigeye tuna, albacore, swordfish, mako sharks, mahi and tilefish.

About 5 million pounds of fish are packed and shipped.from Viking Village everyday to major markets such as New York City, Philadelphia, Washington D. C., Baltimore, the Midwest and northern California.


Image and video hosting by TinyPic


To keep the fish fresh Viking Village has two 22 ton
Ice machines for use in deliveries. Two separate ice machines can handle 11 tons per day. To meet Viking Village standards 66 tons of ice per day must be produced.

Viking Village gives free ice to the “net fish” boats because they do not want them scrimping on the all important ice needed to keep the fish at peak freshness.

Viking Village ships to places such as Las Vegas. Wyoming and Las Angeles by FedEx.

Viking Village is home to the scalloper fishing vessel “Lindsay L” portrayed as the “Hanna Bodan” in the movie “The Perfect Storm”. While filming Warner Brothers experienced actual
hurricane force winds.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The tiny little fishing shacks located at the docks date back to the founding days and are now little souvenir and gift shops.


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Sort:  

I loved the latest photos. It looks a pretty picturesque and beautiful place to visit. I hope someday I will have the opportunity to visit it. Big hug!

Thanks, this is my home beach. I hope you will come and enjoy it one day!

I agree picturesque indeed!

Congratulations @team101! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

I spent many summers on Long Beach Island. This is making me nostalgic for some fresh fish from the Blue Claw, a steak from Okies, and a Woodies Hamburger!

Wink, look like nice place :)

Wonderful images. Boats make such interesting subjects to photograph. Must be a very peaceful place to live. 💕

It is peaceful. The population goes from about 25,000 off season to about 200,000 during tourist season. Thanks for commenting.

Pleasure. Reminds me now: I lived in what was essentially a fishing village in winter and a tourist resort in summer, for a year when I first left home. Such a wonderful time. Sometimes incredibly lonely but I was becoming very interested in my art. Other times, I just wanted the beach all to myself again. 😊

Those little shacks are as cute as. I love the name viking village as well!

Viking Village is home to the scalloper fishing vessel “Lindsay L” portrayed as the “Hanna Bodan” in the movie “The Perfect Storm”

Oh, I've seen that great movie! Thanks for sharing :D

I'm sorry I missed this during the payout window...

A very lovely story with photos. I also looked over your interesting introductory post.

In any case, I'm leaving this comment in the hope of encouraging you to publish some more here on Steemit, as well as to thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a nice comment about our puppy dog! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks for your encouragement on posting . My Walmart article went up at about 2:30 a.m ET this morning. Still struggling with formatting!

You're very welcome! Nice post! :)

About formatting, I recommend going back even after you've posted and "fixing" things that seem out of place... I did notice a couple. Here's one thing that confused me:

"There will be approximately 7.2 different purchasing experiences this year ..."

Not quite clear to me what that means?

Also:

"except for a few holidays
that stores are closed."

Seems to me that is an unwanted line break?

Generally on the formatting, do read up and "experiment" with Markdown - you can do quite a bit with it. You can also embed HTML, although not everything will work.j

If you have any specific questions about formatting, I'd be glad to try to assist! Let me know! :D

Anyhow, GOOD JOB! Keep up the great work!

Thanks a million.

Thank you for you kind encouraging words.

You are more than welcome!

If you think to, please leave me a note when you make another post so I can be sure to vote for it? :D

Lovely pics. Makes me want to go there :0) thx for sharing. Now followed and upvoted

You should come as it is a lovely place. Thanks for commenting. Now following you.

Ur welcome😊 thx

Looks like a great place to visit! I will keep that on mind!

You should visit if you like anything to do with the beach. Thanks for commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72