Wihan Thep Sathit Phra Kitti Chaloem, the most beautiful Chinese Shrine in Ang Sila, Chonburi province, in the East of Thailand

in #travel7 years ago

chinese shrine39.jpg

Two days ago, I traveled with my mom and my sisters to have lunch in Ang Sila, Chonburi province in the East of Thailand. (near Bang San beach and not far away from Pattaya) We luckily found this shrine on our way and we decided to visit the place after finishing our lunch.

This is the most famous shrine and one of the most tourist attractions of Chonburi province; there are a lot of tourists visiting this place throughout the day, especially on Chinese New Year. The Thai name of this shrine is very long, “Wihan Thep Sathit Phra Kitti Chaloem”.

The architecture of buildings is in Chinese style. The main building is four-storey which is very large and really high. Yes, I can say that it is because of the huge, elegant, colorful and beautiful buildings that can attract our eyes to stop by!

When I stood close to the buildings, I cannot take photo of the whole buildings in only one photo! I haven’t ever seen the buildings like these before. I was much excited and took a lot of photos for you.

chinese shrine43.jpg

chinese shrine41.jpg

The buildings are decorated with wonderful things that are relevant to Chinese belief; i.e. dragons, Chinese lion statues, Chinese god statues, etc.

It is believed that there are many Chinese Gods and Goddess staying there, such as Guanyin, the Chinese Goddess of Mercy, etc.

Chinese Shrine4.jpg

Chinese Shrine14.jpg

Chinese Shrine12.jpg

Chinese Shrine6.jpg

Chinese Shrine8.jpg

Chinese Shrine10.jpg

At the first step of the stairs before you go into the inside building, there is one golden god riding golden dragon.

Chinese Shrine16.jpg

Chinese Shrine18.jpg

Chinese Shrine21.jpg

There are a lot of God statues and beautiful mural painting inside the building. Unfortunately, it is forbid to take photo inside!

When you are in Thai temples, you will see a lot of Naga, but when you are in Chinese temples, you will see a lot of dragons. In this shrine, there are a lot of dragons almost everywhere, especially on the pillars. Dragon is the signal of prosperity according to Chinese belief. Really beautiful art!

Chinese Shrine26.jpg

chinese shrine36.jpg

Chinese Shrine15.jpg

Chinese Shrine30.jpg

Chinese Shrine28.jpg

The two arch entrances were built in the same styles. They both are very large and tall with beautiful architecture matching to the characteristics of this shrine.

chinese shrine38.jpg

Chinese Shrine23.jpg

chinese shrine37.jpg

Chinese Shrine13.jpg

There are two smaller buildings near the entrances and next to the front wall of the shrine. The roofs are high with multi-stories and beautiful paintings. It is the architecture style of Mahayana Buddhist Chinese temple.

Chinese Shrine24.jpg

Chinese Shrine22.jpg

chinese shrine40.jpg

Chinese Shrine11.jpg

Chinese Shrine35.jpg

The drum and bell towers are built on either side of the main building. It’s believed that if we hit the huge drum or the big bell, we will have good fortune. Both towers were built in the same way! They look very beautiful! (They are now under repaired!)

Chinese Shrine5.jpg

Chinese Shrine9.jpg

Chinese Shrine7.jpg

chinese shrine42.jpg

In front of the main building, there is a big fountain with a beautiful large lotus base. The water is very crystal clear. There are a lot of god statues and a beautiful giant joss stick pot for people to worship their Gods.

Chinese Shrine20.jpg

Chinese Shrine33.jpg

Chinese Shrine25.jpg

Chinese Shrine32.jpg

Chinese Shrine19.jpg

Chinese Shrine27.jpg

Chinese Shrine34.jpg

Chinese Shrine29.jpg

If you plan to visit Thailand, I would recommend you to visit this beautiful shrine, Wihan Thep Sathit Phra Kitti Chaloem!

Chinese Shrine.jpg

Chinese Shrine3.jpg

Sort:  

Oh my! This is absolutely wonderful my friend!! I appreciate the pictures, all shots are beautiful.

PS. I'm glad you got to spend time with your mom and sister. And you got to see this beautiful shrine together too!

First of all, many thanks for your special gift and upvote for me.... That's very nice of you!

I'm happy you found the place and the pictures interesting!

In fact, I seldom spent time together with them! It's really special time indeed. Thanks a lot for your kind thought on this! ;)

Amazing sculptures! Loved it! Thank you for the pictures. And the goddess Guanyin, the Chinese goddess of mercy I really like, she is very beautiful!

Thanks so much for your nice comment and sharing picture of the goddess Guanyin. I love her, too! I absolutely agree with you, "she is very beautiful", indeed! ;)

what a beautiful place you have visited dear friend @tangmo, congratulations for the beautiful catches, the images are truly beautiful and very colorful, the structures of your country is incredible
thank you very much for sharing these beautiful images and the beautiful place
I wish you a great day

Thanks so much for your nice comment! I'm really happy to hear that!

Have a wonderful day, too! ;)

Magnificent place my dear. I admire each baulking and the streets. So many history and memories. Thank you for sharing and taking me like always for such a interesting trip with a lot of ppriceless information ;)

Have a wonderful day and I am sending a flower to make you smile :)

IMG_8789.jpg

I'm really glad to hear that you found this trip interesting and the place is magnificent, as you said, indeed!

Thanks so much for your nice comment and sending me this beautiful flower! I feel really refreshed and have a big smile now! ;D

Sounds good my dear :-)))

Very good one post.

Thanks a lot for stopping by! I'm glad you like my post! ;)

I can see why you took many photographs. You could spend the whole day there shooting away. SO much to sea and appreciate.
I love that huge tower/pole with the dragons. Truly a special, fascinating place. Thanks for sharing it with us.
How far is this from where you live? Just curious, how long it takes to get from different provinces in your area. Have a wonderful night.

Yes, you’re right! I can spend the whole day just taking the photos there! That huge tower with dragons can especially attract my eyes, too!

It normally takes approx. 1 hour and a half to go there via express way. Very relaxing and great trip! You can see nice views from above!

Thanks so much for your nice comment! Have a pleasant day! ;)

Good question!

Magnificent Shrine presented with wonderful pictures

Thanks so much for your nice comment and stopping by! I'm glad you like the shrine and the pictures! ;)

Beautiful pictures, @tangmo. That's a really big temple... all the temples here are really small. Nice to see the preserved architecture as well.

Yes, that's really big temple! I'm glad you like the pictures and architecture, too! Many thanks for your nice comment and stopping by! ;)

nice post my friend, i really appreciate your photography, i really like the statues and buildings shots all of them are so beautiful, Stay blessed and thanks for sharing

Thanks so much for your nice comment! I'm glad you like my post, my photos, the statues and the buildings! Wishing you all the best! ;)

Nice post my dear friend

Thanks a lot! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61065.80
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53