The house with marijuana and crocodiles for a half million. Welcome to Cambodia!

in #travel7 years ago

After 10 months of traveling I decided to make a break for a few months and earn some money to keep my traveling. I chose Cambodia as a temporary place for living. I would never have believed that I will live here.

I chose it not accidentally, living here is very cheap and nice, tasty and inexpensive food and a lot of travelers to share time.

I decided to stay in Siem Reap, famous for its ancient complex of Angkor Wat. Accommodation is offered for every budget, as well as I like country houses, silence and a barbecue I went to the countryside. Several hours of searching and I’m already signing a lease. I liked the house so much that I didn’t even try to bargain.


So, welcome to my home!

The house is surrounded by a small fence and a huge gate that is still a mystery for me. Why they built the gate twice taller than the fence?

Traditionally, almost in every Cambodian house there is a small temple in the courtyard. At the right pot there is a growing marijuana from the title photo. Someone cuts it sometimes.

Let’s go inside. Insidethere are also two traditional mini temples.

Most of Khmer houses have massive tables even if in the house live only two people. Sitting at this table is such a big pleasure. A lot of space.

Different view. This is a livingroom. I was too lazy to open windows, that’s why it looks so gloomy.

Bathroom. It looks dirty because locals like to use yellow and beige tile in bathrooms. In fact Mr. Propper was here recently.

The second bedroom. Here I host travelers from Couchsurfing. Here is an air conditioner and a private bathroom.

Let's go up to the second floor. Fancy sofa.

The second floor is a typical Khmer wooden house. I don’t use it, but here is another small bedroom as well.

Let's look out the window. And outside there are several dozens of crocodiles. This is the crocodile farm, here they rise crocodiles for meat and leather. Crocodiles are lazy and fat. Lying with open mouths for hours.

Top view of crocodiles. Dangerously.

Top view of the area. Cozily.

This house costs 500,000 Cambodian riel per month that’s equally 120 american dollars.

---------------------------------

You may like my other posts

Hello Kitty Hotel

Getting to the skyscraper's rooftop in Bangkok

Follow me @takemyfive

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.15 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67863.38
ETH 3708.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65