Travel with me (Live Edition) - Bonjour Paris!

in #travel7 years ago

Greetings Steemit friends:

Today I'm blogging on the go, hence the "live edition" of travel with me!

On Wednesday, I met up with a few of my friends in London and one of them said they were going to Paris for a long weekend from Friday morning to Sunday.

IMG_0329.JPG

I asked if I could come, and my friend thought that I was joking! How could I pass up the opportunity to visit one of my favorite cities in Europe and follow my friends preplanned itinerary?!

So, suffice to say, I gate crashed their little weekend getaway and I booked my flights and hotel the very same night.

The Trip

Since this was such a last-minute spur of the moment decision to travel to Paris, I was expecting flights and hotel to be quite expensive, but "transavia" gave me a really terrific deal for a return trip from London to Paris. The only slight set back was that I'd have to leave from Luton Airport in London and arrive at Orly Airport in Paris. Both are not the nearest to the centre of town. But I can't complain as it was cheap and very last minute so I took the 8am flight to Paris.

IMG_0279.JPG

This is the inside of the plane. Notice that their theme seems to be green and even all their seats are green!

IMG_0248.JPG

Here's a picture straight out the plane.

IMG_0250.JPG

This is the plane that I was on.

IMG_0254.JPG

A nice welcome sign to Paris.

IMG_0262.JPG

I took the taxi from the airport to my Hotel and was initially shocked when the meter was set at 35 euros! It turns out that this is the flat rate for taxi from the airport to the city.

IMG_0392.JPG

On the way, I saw some really interesting graffiti all over the walls of tunnels. They are actually really good works of art, not the kind of messy stuff I'm used to seeing around dodgy ends of London.

IMG_0345.JPG

IMG_0346.JPG

One of the great things about Paris is that its a beautiful city everywhere you look. The 45 minute journey seemed to whiz by very quickly!

IMG_0347.JPG

IMG_0349.JPG

IMG_0348.JPG

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at my Hotel. Called Hotel Pastel Paris, it'll be my home for the next 4 days. Turning into this very narrow street, it felt uncannily familiar, as if I had visited this street before, or even stayed in another hotel on this street. I realised that this is just how Paris is! The hotel stands out as it is on the corner of a street junction and it is also the only building with prominent black borders. It's like a modern interpretation of the classic Parisian architecture. I'm loving it already !

IMG_0329.JPG

IMG_0350.JPG

Itinerary for the day

Since Ive arrived a little early for check-in, I have a few hours to kill so I've decided to visit a Lebanese restaurant just a short distance from here.

IMG_0375.JPG

IMG_0388.JPG

IMG_0389.JPG

IMG_0376.JPG

IMG_0384.JPG

IMG_0385.JPG

IMG_0386.JPG

IMG_0387.JPG

IMG_0391.JPG

IMG_0390.JPG

After that I'll be making my way to Louvre and Montparnasse

To end the evening, we'll be taking a risque visit to the Crazy Horse cabaret for some late night fun!

More live blogs to come!

IMG_0333.JPG

Sort:  

Nice trip :)

Thanks! Still a few more days to go!

So maybe.... Disneyland! :)

Very interesting story and beautiful photos! Thank you for sharing @sweetsssj!

Thanks! It's been a challenge doing it completely on my phone but just have the urge to share!

I also love Paris, and I do not hesitate for a moment when the opportunity presents itself

Such a romantic and beautiful city. I've been coming here for quite a while now every time I am I Europe I can never refuse a trip to Paris!

Oh.... and you wore green to match the airline?

Totally by coincidence! I was scared people might assume I work for the airline company !

Haha.. not like you are flying UA.
Next time you take us to Japan because

‘Our Airline Crews Won't Beat You,’ Japan’s Deputy PM Tells U.S. Audience

Good to see some good vibes and ray of sunshines coming from Paris :) We need as much as possible lately :)

Very lucky that the weather has been rather nice so far. Lots of sunshine!

The Hotel Pastel was previously named "Hotel Ambassade" and has been entirely renovated recently.
It has reopened as Hotel Pastel less than a month ago.
In Google street view, you can still see the Hotel Ambassade before the renovation.

So interesting! I haven't stayed here before but it does seem "redone" now I know why! Thanks!

Beautiful post.

@sweetsssj- enjoy Paris!!!
can I go there too? :D just kidding ^ ^
you were surprised with the plug down of the cab? is it cheaper in the UK then?
am a bit surprised too - that's a rip off
but Paris isn't a cheap place to visit
have fun and I'm already wondering what you'll be showing us soon

What good it is to be able to have that freedom of being able to travel without being planned in advance, I admire that of you. The pictures are great, many murals on the public way, the selection menu always look very delicious. Congratulations for another wonderful post, thank you very much

Thanks jlufer, I'm really fortunate but of course I really do treasure these opportunities too, for me they are also quite hard to come by especially given my visa restrictions.

Great 'Live Edition' report from Paris @sweetsssj! The drive to the hotel looked nice and the Lebanese food looked delicious. Have a fun weekend, I hope the Crazy Horse didn't get too crazy :)

Thanks sandstorm, hoping I get some time to get some more live editions in ! Crazy horse definitely lived up to its name that's for sure ..

Excellent to hear @sweetsssj! Just be sure to have fun :)

A fantastic trip! I hope to go there!

You'll be so happy when you do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20