Travel with me #53 : A visit to "Our Lady of Paris" - Notre-Dame Cathedral!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


IMG_3372.JPG

Our Lady of Paris

The Notre-Dame is almost every tourist's top attraction when visiting Paris. Even though it is not my first or even second visit to Notre-Dame, it is still on the top of my list of places to visit each time I have the pleasure of waltzing through Paris.

At first glance, I am immediately reminded of the childhood Disney movie The Hunchback of Notre Dame. As a child, I watched in fascination as Quasimodo traversed the building up high in the Paris skyline. It's intricate Gothic detailing so accurate that I could almost pick out the exact gargoyle that came alive in the movie from the real building.

On this day, the weather was less than ideal with the outlook being overcast for the whole day. Indeed it was fitting as I always envision Notre Dame to be quite spooky and dark, particularly with it's Gothic architecture.

IMG_0808.JPG

IMG_3373.JPG

IMG_0805.JPG

With the cathedral being a focal point of visitation from tourists in Paris, it is no surprise that there are many people outside taking photos or queuing up to enter.

IMG_0828.JPG

IMG_0830.JPG

Here, we see the Notre-Dame facade with the Portal of the Virgin, Portal of the Last Judgement and Portal of St-Anne. This is actually the most popular angle despite facing west.

IMG_0832.JPG

The north and south side have incredible rose windows accompanied by very detailed transepts modelled in a Rayonnant style. Even though the cathedral has gone through many restoration projects, the modelling remains true to it's original design and is still breathtaking every time I visit.

I found myself just staring at the building from the side and forgetting that I haven't even gone inside yet!

IMG_0877.JPG

IMG_0874.JPG

IMG_0873.JPG

IMG_0867.JPG

IMG_0871.JPG

IMG_0865.JPG

Here are some more photos of the western facade.

IMG_7143.JPG

IMG_7145.JPG

The Cathedral holds many services throughout the day. There was a service being held when I entered so there were a fair number of people sitting on the wooden benches.

Unlike the Sacre Coeur, the interior of the Notre-Dame has very little use of gold. In fact, I would say the glass windows are it's most defining features.

Here are some photos of the inside.

IMG_7153.JPG

IMG_7151.JPG

IMG_7150.JPG

IMG_0833.JPG

IMG_0834.JPG

IMG_0835.JPG

IMG_0836.JPG

IMG_0838.JPG

IMG_0839.JPG

IMG_0841.JPG

IMG_0844.JPG

IMG_0845.JPG

IMG_0846.JPG

IMG_0849.JPG

IMG_0851.JPG

IMG_0851.JPG

IMG_0853.JPG

IMG_0855.JPG

Notre-Dame is actually situated on one of the two remaining natural islands in the Seine within Paris.

Here you can see people walking along the river as well as boats passing down stream!

IMG_0856.JPG

IMG_0862.JPG

Finally, i'd like to show everybody the hotel I stayed at called Hotel Pastel

I chose this hotel because of how centrally located it is.

It's just a 10 minute walk from Champs-Elysées and the Arc de Triomphe and is conveniently located around many shops and restaurants!

IMG_0282.JPG

IMG_0283.JPG

As you can see, the hotel has recently been completely renovated so everything feels remarkably clean and new.

The reception area is small but has an interesting central lighting fixture in the shape of a gravity well.

IMG_0300.JPG

IMG_0301.JPG

IMG_0284.JPG

IMG_0302.JPG

IMG_0285.JPG

IMG_0356.JPG

IMG_0290.JPG

IMG_0360.JPG

Even though the room is relatively small, it has a really homely feeling which I adore very much. Everything is just the right size, not too big, and not too small. Actually, for little old me, it's already quite large.

IMG_0361.JPG

IMG_0363.JPG

IMG_0364.JPG

IMG_0365.JPG

IMG_0366.JPG

IMG_0368.JPG

IMG_0369.JPG

IMG_0371.JPG

The bathroom is very bright and very clean. Hygiene is something I care about quite a lot, so the Hotel has done very well to cover that base.

There isn't a bathtub which is my only small disappointment. There is nothing better than taking a long soothing bath after a long day of sightseeing, but at least the shower temperature actually works! (Won't have to call Miss. Opinionated for now)

IMG_0378.JPG

IMG_0380.JPG

And voila! Many pictures later, we arrived at the end of this edition of travel with me but not to worry, I still have a couple more interesting tid bits to share from my trip to Paris and those will be coming up real soon!

Thanks for reading and don't forget to comment!

Sort:  

又来领略下异国风情!图片真实而精美,相当不错!

谢谢lemooljiang啦,好高的评价呀,看到你们还在 真好:)

funny the hotel says hotel pastel?
but the only pastel I saw is that gucci bag .. oh well am a woman - that thing about women and bags ~~~
were you there during the Easter? I noticed the eggs - ona bigger egg choc
I hope you have a safe trip if you're still there

I didn't realise my bag was a pastel !
Yes I was there during the long easter weekend (explains the eggs)!

期待新作,好羡慕sweetsssj能经常出外旅行

谢谢支持啦cqf : )

Amazon pictures! And the beautiful girl :)

thanks cqf!

Great photos! Thanks for sharing!

thanks strandedalien, you're welcome :)

Dear sweetsssj;

Nice photos and it made me remember my trip to Paris during 2014. I just likes to know how do you include the steemit logo inside your photos?

Really Cool of you @sweetsssj

Making these Travel Along post for ALL of US on Steemit who may never be able to go to ALL these places.

Look forward to interesting tid bits soon!

Frank

Thanks Frank, i'm sure you'll get the opportunity one day. If not, i'll always be striving to document my travels as best I can !

Great photos, and I would love to visit Paris. It looks like you are having lots of fun, keep safe and Steem on!

Thanks qwesttexas, it was indeed a lot of fun, a truly short but sweet trip!

great! pictures!! really sharp lens!

Believe it or not, most of my photos are taken with a stock iphone 7 plus. My other camera is a 5D MKii which i've been meaning to upgrade for quite some time but i'll need more practice before then!

Amazing!
Thanks for sharing your trip :)

you're very welcome ghostwriter82! :D :D

I can't wait to start international travel, so much to see ✈️

I think it is a life time endeavour, but well worth it!

whew that was a lot of pics

I'm a little trigger happy on the shutter !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58