You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel with me #86 : A visit to the ancient Town of Hiera - Hierapolis!

in #travel7 years ago

john, once again you have made my day with such a lovely comment that really describes everything I wrote in a much more poetic way, thank you!

Sometimes it's very hard to see what the original structures were like when a lot of the buildings are now just large pieces of stone on the ground, and yet, aside from the buildings which still stand erect, I get a haunting feeling of the city as it once stood from the rubble of stones that remain.

Certainly, I am amazed by the engineering capabilities of people in those times, especially as after two millennia, some buildings are left standing to hold the test of time.

It takes a bit of imagination to see how some buildings would have looked given their current state, and I imagine some architects probably have an easier time visualising it in their heads, but it is an exercise worth trying and I certainly enjoyed my attempt to recreate the city in my head as I wandered through it.

In the future, I will try to be more thorough and give everyone a much more complete "picture" of the place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62058.88
ETH 3419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48