Sun Surf Soul Travels Hawaii – Kealia Hike, Northshore Oahu

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Somewhat of a challenging hike, we set off with high hopes. 5 minutes in I began to understand why people woke at 5am to start. Being the not so morning person I am we arrived to the trail at 10am. Rookies. It was stifling hot already. 

After what felt like 100 million switchbacks we had finally zig zagged our way to the top. When the breeze was blowing it was glorious, when it wasn’t it was like being in an oven. 

You can keep going right up and check out the valley on the other side too (I think it's a military base). But to be honest I was too dead to go on! So we had our picnic lunch under some trees after admiring this neat art then headed back down for a swim!  

It was a very cool hike but next time I'd drag myself out of bed at 5am and go right to the top. The view looking over the arifield was neat, and watching all the gliders floating about. 

Please share the love if you enjoyed my pictures/post 😊 For more of our global adventures head over to www.sunsurfsoul.com

Sort:  

Wow! So beautiful :)

Wonderful view from up there. Must be quite a hike up but fortunately I can just look at your photos :-)

love love these blues

Me too! So nice.

stunning, I would enjoy such a trip. Hope you had a good time :-)

Thanks ! Yeah it was an awesome trip :)

beautiful:) i really enjoyed your post........pictures are awesome......!!
have a good time:)

Great pictures. The water looks so cool and refreshing. You never can tell from pictures that the heat is so high until you are there. Looks like you found a nice place to hike, even it was hot. I like the artwork you found, very detailed. I hope you had a great trip. Glad you found a shady spot for your picnic. It sounds wonderful.

Thanks for the comment @beccadeals! Yeah it was well worth the hike even with the exhausting heat. It was a wonderful day :)!

You're welcome and glad you had a great time.

upvoted and follow ...... if you like check my travel photos here https://steemit.com/travel/@bllackwidow/mytrip-belgium-awesome-part-2 ......... lets help each other as newbies cause those who make money usually dont care anymore

Beautiful! This looks like a great place to go!:) Please check my little journey that I made soon. I hope you enjoy my photos. @nakedchef89

https://steemit.com/photography/@nakedchef89/travel-challenge-11-devetashka-cave

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60796.54
ETH 3365.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50