Austin Food Confession

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

So I have a confession. I used to think that people who called themselves "foodies" were a little pretentious. But I think... I might be one. Don't hate me. Also, I might have eaten my weight in upscale donuts during my trip in Austin. Save your judgement.

IMG_5148.JPG
This was the first restaurant Joel and I went to- and we knew that food in Austin was going to be good. Licha's Cantina was the highest rated Mexican restaurant on yelp that was close to our hotel. We sat on the patio and watched the grackles battle over leftovers (see my description of a grackle in my Austin Journal Day 1) while we waited about 10 minutes to be served. The service might have been a little slow, but once we got greeted, our server was totally worth waiting for. He was more than willing to point out his favorite dishes, and talked about the fact that the Mexican food at Licha's was authentic- specifically from the Mexico City area.

IMG_5150.JPG
We split the gorditas con chiccarron, which were delicious but a little bland without the cilantro and onion garnish that it was served with. The carnitas and bacon quesadillas were way more flavorful, and I was impressed with the blue corn tortillas that upped the ante a bit.

IMG_5147.JPG
We loved the atmosphere and the decor at Licha's! It was in the cutest little old house (most of the good places were) and the patio was open and spacious, with little touches that felt authentic, including a porch utterly covered in bell wind chimes.

IMG_5189.JPG
If you're not familiar with Spanish, gordo translates to "fat" in Spanish. I liked the play on words, and their cleverness certainly extended to their menu. Their donuts are covered in everything from fried chicken and bacon, to yellow cake batter filling and heath bars. Even if you're not a "sweet" person, you could still find something to eat here. I was especially impressed by the fact that they fry all their donuts fresh, and then cover them in their various toppings.

IMG_5188.JPG
Plus it was in an airstream. What's more hipster than that?

IMG_5190.JPG
We ate at Gordough's four different times during our vacation cough. I only took pictures during the first time, because I didn't need a record of my shame. Pictured is the "nutty valentine" (on the left), and the "funky monkey" (on the right). The nutty valentine was good- you can't go wrong with nutella and strawberries- but the funky monkey was probably my favorite of the two. It had grilled bananas carmelized in sugar, cream cheese icing, and brown sugar sprinkled on top. The flavor was complex, and both donuts were sweet enough to melt your teeth. On the next visit we had The Puddin', which I preferred over the Funky Monkey, just because it wasn't quite as sweet, but had similar ingredients. All the donuts were big/sweet/rich enough to share with two people (yet for some reason we kept ordering two....)

IMG_5235.JPG
Austin BBQ gives Kansas City BBQ a run for it's money (and I don't say that lightly- Kansas Citians are damn proud of their BBQ). The brisket here was delicious and tender, and had a bark created from smoking that tasted sweet, like molasses and brown sugar. I learned what "bark" on meat was just because of this trip, because we ate and talked about nothing but BBQ in the loooooong lines that form around Austin's BBQ joints. I had the pitmaster's favorite (pictured), which was full of smoked brisket with egg salad as a sauce on it and house-made pickles. The sides and alcohol were excellent here as well- the macaroni was heavy on the thyme, making it a little more "upscale" than regular mac'n'cheese, and the Striptease was sweet but not overly done. It took a while to be served here too, but I would do it all again for some of that meat in my mouth.

IMG_5236.JPG
One of the smokers out the back of the building.

IMG_5241.JPG
Freedman's is in a historical building- the name of the restaurant actually comes from the fact that it was originally built as a store in 1869 by a former slave in a freedman community. The interior had some beautiful architectural elements.

IMG_5426.JPG
The top rated BBQ place in Austin is Franklin's. People start lining up for it at 8am in the morning, for it's opening at 11am, and it only stays open until it runs out of food or until 3pm every day. This was not Franklin's- this was La Barbeque. The line however, felt enormous as we drove up, and we waited for about an hour and a half, maybe two hours. There were beers though, and we had a nice conversation with a gentleman from Atlanta, who was there with his family.

IMG_5429.JPG

IMG_5428.JPG
I didn't think BBQ could get any better than what we had at Freedman's, but oh, I was wrong. From the first taste after waiting in line (they gave us a tiny sample), I knew we had found the ultimate meat candy. I never knew the true meaning of melt into your mouth until I had their meat. It didn't even really need BBQ sauce (although it was good). The beans and the potato salad paled in comparison. Seriously, I might have to write a poem about their meat.

I would go back to Austin just for the food. It's worth a 14 hour drive for sure.



Photos and reviews are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

Oh my God! These photos are filled with flavors and aromas. All this food is so delicious, alluring. Although, of course, these sweets can not be called as "proper nutrition". But sometimes all we need for happiness is a fragrant barbecue with friends, or a sweet chocolate - covered donut in a cozy cafe. An excellent walk and a very tasty post!

Definitely not proper nutrition- but I tend to worry about it less when I'm on vacation ^_^ thank you for stopping by!

Somehow I had never heard the term "upscale donut" before- yum! More inspiration to plan another trip to Austin.

I might have made it up. Gordough's is often compared to the infamous Voodoo Donuts, but personally, I think Gordough's is way better- I actually got a stomach-ache from their donuts because they were so sweet. Definitely plan a trip, the food is so worth it!

why are those donuts talking to me in the photos?

It's your sweet-tooth, saying "drive forever to come eat me"

yesh, if i have to spend winter in CO again, this could happen,,,

Nom nom!! Never been to ANY of those places! TexMex is something that Texas is also really amazing for. I miss it from time to time up this way.

Those doughnuts sound scrumptious!

The one place we had TexMex at was roooooough- it was rated number 2 by some website, and we just didn't end up going back. If we'd have had more time, maybe we would have had an opportunity to try a different one, because I heard good things for sure.
The doughnuts were ammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmazeballs

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=sunravelme
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=austin-food-confession


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sunravelme☀ from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Surely it was delicious donuts friend, did you beyond unbelievable, success always for you friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77