Day one in Austin (travel journal)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Austins motto is "Keep Austin Weird"- I'm pretty sure that the drive was trying to live up to that motto too.

We drove through a town called "Wild Horses" but all we saw was a bunch of wild turkeys crossing the road that we had to dodge.

Crossing the state line into Oklahoma was pretty obvious because you suddenly felt like you were on a wooden rollercoaster.

14 hours straight of driving and Texas roads that are full of one ways and long exits can make you wonder if you left your mind at the last gas station.

The birds here sound like a child's battery operated toy and have a villainous name- Grackles. Their eyes stare straight into your soul and they look like an oil slick.

IMG_5145.JPG

IMG_5149.JPG

IMG_5155.JPG

IMG_5175.JPG

More detailed posts to come- this is just to serve as a daily journal as I capture my thoughts on the trip.



Photos and words are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

Love Austin TX
My daughter graduated from UT in 2014 and is a true TexasEx
followed, upvote and resteem
SteemOn

Thank you! I am loving Austin- the food is especially good!

I long to "leave it all behind" and travel for a while. Actually hoping to have that opportunity sometime within the next couple of years, God willing?

Thanks for this little sample of "elsewhere." ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

As a teacher I get a decent amount of time off and love spending it traveling! Its nice to get away for sure.

Cool place! I loved living in Austin, while I was in Texas.

I wonder if Lucky Bar is still there on 6th Street. It was a cool little spot. If you guys get to drive around, Lake Travis is gorgeous. You might also like checking out Hippie Hollow and the Arboretum.

Looking forward to more pics!

We biked along 6th street but didn't come across Lucky Bar at all- maybe another day! Lake Travis is definitely in the plan, and we will have to check out the arboretum too! Thanks for the suggestions

Glad you're having a lot of fun there on bikes and stuff!

Austin has an in and out if you're into that burger joint. Then you can do a side by side comparison of wattaburger and in and out lol. Safe travels! 🌸

There is so much good food in Austin!!

Loved my time in Austin, recently, where I was invited to participate in Int’l Literary Festival (though Tom Hanks, Dan Rather & Bush sisters stole the show)!

Yes, they do have a surprisingly high tolerance for weird & that’s why I hope to return 🤓. Thanks, for sharing & safe/fun travels, Sun ✌🏼

A literary festival sounds like a ton of fun! Loving Austin so far- the food, the nature ❤

Dunno if I mentioned this to you in the past but, if you get a chance, I recommend you check out Malvern bookstore--cool scene and they have regular readings, there. (Here's yours truly ;) <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62