You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travels With Connie #78 Florence, Wisconsin

in #travel6 years ago

I love the old small towns and the old buildings. Seeing those pictures of your's reminded me of a trip I made to the University of Notre Dame in Indiana, all the original buildings there were built with bricks that were made from a clay pit on the property that had a yellow tint to the clay. The clay never left the site, the had a kiln right there where the bricks were molded and fired. Then taken directly to the building that was under construction and placed.
Those buildings in Florence have that same sort of tint to me from my memory.
Thanks for sharing and sparking a memory.

Sort:  

With out even asking my expert, I'm sure the bricks were at least made nearby. Right where Erv's place is it's very sandy, left over grindings from the last ice age. But you don't have to go far to find the items that were ground :) Includes clay deposits and rivers and lakes to hold that clay.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43