You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The bee hunters of Nepal. / Die Bienenjäger Nepals.

in #travel6 years ago

Let me just add to the Wows! These are truly Power Bees, with their quick in and out strategy. You can tell their "hives" are not meant to form "nests" complete with their own inner climate to survive the winter. It is a real camper-solution. So curious what the honey tastes like. Any idea yourself (via father)?

Sort:  

I know, own experience would have been better, but here is written something about the honey as well ...

Edit: I actually forgot (the trip was already quite some years ago) that I had eaten some of the honey which my father brought home after the journey: it was rather liquid, light, fresh and with a smack of lemon taste ...

Very enlightening. So, from the taste you describe and from the article you refer to, I suppose you did not taste the red variety - and fly off to goodness knows where!

I always wondered about the rhododendron effect (heard it was toxic). Now I've learned it's "medicinal" I shall worry less about the hives on a local farm, placed very close to the rhododendron shrubs. It may explain, however, why it tastes a little heady.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98