Sleepless in a strange city. Midnight rambling

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

2018-01-28 18.13.48.png

Twelve o'clock midnight, restless and sleepless in a strange hotel by the incongruous name of The Astral, situated on the edge of the Airport runway. Planes carrying passengers from Egypt and from Tel Aviv come in to land, gliding deafeningly right past the balcony where I sit, smoking cigarettes and drinking instant coffee with powdered milk from a white hotel tea cup in this noisy desert Babylon.

2018-01-28 17.12.57.png

I drove all day heading south from the green hills of Galilee, through the valley of Jordan, past the parched and decimated wasteland of the dead sea with its sulphur fumes, chemical factories and sink holes. All the water has been drained. All of the salt plundered and sold. Huge diggers dredge up the remaining mud to be sold the world over for beauty products and anti ageing creams. The product's name - Ahava - meaning Love.

2018-01-29 00.35.55.png

We pass through checkpoints as we glide down the desert highway - rocky mountains close to the right, where Jesus himself was said to have hidden in caves, talking to his God and his disciples. Planning his getaway. Listening to Paul Simon Graceland on the tape player. I've reason to believe we all will be received... Listening to Muddy Waters.. screaming and crying.. where's my people gone.. slide guitar wailing as the highway stretches and snakes ahead into the endless horizon...

Trucks are moving slow, carrying rocks, carrying earth, carrying salt. We overtake them dangerously, praying that no one will be coming the other way on blind turns. The sky behind is black, the remnants of a storm that lasted a week. The sky ahead is blue, where we're going it doesn't rain more than a few days a year. The mountains to our left are closing in, turning red in the setting sun. Jordan will turn into Saudi Arabia. Israel will turn into Egypt. Electric fences mark the edges of these artificial boundaries. The land is billions of years old. Once all of this was under the sea. Some day it will be again. The children are eating tangerines in the back seat. We pass a sign that says Plant Quarantine Zone - Do not throw away fruit or vegetables.

2018-01-29 00.33.35.png

What the hell is going on round here? What is this place? Where am I taking us? Soon we will get to the Red Sea. Tomorrow I'll take the kids to the underwater observatory to see the colourful fish, while there's still some left.

Sort:  

just another day in the holy land eh gids! powerful flowething writings! lovely! i can read this stuff all day!

Let me put a non-spam comment here, strange crazy post i must say :-)

@bubke my old friend! Great to see you again. I hope you're well. Thank you. Yes, it's a stream of consciousness type thing. True story. I like to do them from time to time. That's just what it's like in my mind I'm afraid. Strange and crazy it may be. Can't be helped. You may be seeing a bit more of this sort of thing from me. It's part of the Great Steemit Building Project. I shall be writing a post explaining what that means exactly, quite soon. In the meantime, you may expect some level of randomness.

I included the ecotrain tag because I felt this post has an ecoligical dimension. I was in shock to see what has become of the dead sea - once one of the wonders of the world - now an environmental disaster.

Yes, Hi @bubke!
It is mind blowing how much that area has changed these past 20 years. Crazy. Go visit kibbutz lotan on your way back and check out the eco kef park. My army base was just 20 minutes north of Eilat.

Mind blowing indeed , and not always in a good way. I spent half a year on kibbutz lotan 25 years ago. Maybe I should drop in for a visit. I hear they're doing a lot of eco building and permaculture stuff there these days. Perhaps I'll do a special report for Ecotrain....

sounds good! i was in Lotun just before i saw you in heathrow airport for two hours and 10 coffees, about 15 years ago! ask em if they want me to build em an earthbag earthship thing ;-)

I have no problem with you tagging this post as ecotrain (I answer your slack shout out to me here), just remember to not tag more than three posts a week with ecotrain and if you use the tag, please use it as your first tag in order to support and grow our exposure.
The Conductor 😎

Oho!! You might have told me that before I published my thirteen part series on LSD microdosing and Internet use - for two weeks straight... now I feel bad about the ecotrain fortune I amassed from that literary adventure. Still, I suppose it's not up to the stowaway on board to tell the ticket collector how to do his job. Keep up the good work @likedeeler!

No worries, I´m just repeating what the driver said on slack yesterday, we now have such a wonderful group of authors, who produce many posts, so if they would tag all of their posts with ecotrain it would become a bit overwhelming.

First of all, you are a beautiful writer. Wow. Kinda like reading Kerouac. Don't let that swell your head, though. Also no clue that was the deal with the Dead Sea. That's insane. Who the hell let that happen?! Hope the colorful fish are worth the journey.

Thanks supermama. I'm glad you're enjoying reading what I write. Thanks for taking the time. There's so much good material here on Steemit - especially on ecoTrain - that most of it passes me by.
The deal with the dead sea is the same deal as everywhere else, as far as I can make out. Businessmen looking to make money from pillaging our mother Earth's precious treasures, thinking that they're in limitless supply. Question is, how can we stop this before it's too late and undo the damage we've caused?

I know. We have some great writers doing really beautiful work. I try to keep up with ecoTrain, though I have been neglecting the rest of my news feed.
I guess we are still waiting for capitalists to figure out they can't eat money. I don't think it's too late, but I think we do have a big road ahead. We are experiencing serious consequences already, and it's going to get worse before it gets better. Those of us who know a more gentle way just have to keep spreading the word.

hey so nice I really like your post! Thanks for it! I actually wrote my 2nd part of my introduceyouself and I write about that I went to jail because of cryptos... lets make steemit together to a better place with our content! I would like to read a bit more about you and maybe do you have some more pictures? Maybe you upvote me and follow me swell as I do? https://steemit.com/counterfeit/@mykarma/2-jail-review-counterfeit-euro-speeeeending-time

You are spamming too much around, take it easy, you might get flagged

What? Who? Me?

:-) You funny bunny :-)

@MyKarma is posting his jail story comment on many posts, tiring...

Yes! That is what it's all about. Keep up the good pioneering work. Thanks for your comment

Awesome blog@stillgideon!!! Your photos are amazing. I'm also a photographer, if you are interested than check out my work and give me your opinion!
https://steemit.com/photography/@whohow36/beauty-of-everyday-life
20180114_124502.jpg

@Whohow I dig your photos. Keep up the good work my fellow renaissance man2017-10-21 19.44.06.png

Thanks mate, appreciate it 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95