Leaving Chicago, travelling to New York and lessons in anxiety: Chicago and New York trip part 4

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

20180216_112125.jpg

So the day had finally come I had to say goodbye to this amazing city who had seduced me with booze and then offered me a quick fumble in the back alley, Oh Chicago you temptress I will miss you

I woke up on a reflective mood thinking about the old friends I had reconnected with and the new friends I had made via Steemit. My reasons for coming to Chicago was definitely 50/50 by this I mean 50% coming to see old friends and hang out and 50% coming to meet Steemians. If you keep it at 50/50 then you wont be disappointed if one or the other doesn't happen . If both don't happen then that just sux and you have permission to cry in your hotel room . I think this picture summed up my reflective mood. This was was hanging in someone's window as I waited for the train.

20180214_101100.jpg

Anxiety

It must be said at this juncture that do to having such a good , money haemorrhaging, time in Chicago my financial plans were starting to go awry. I had previously hoped that either before or during my holiday the deposit for my old apartment would be put back in my bank account. This had not materialised and I was starting to get a bit edgy . For some of you who don't know and I don't mind admitting it here. I have for the first time (at 38) undergone some counselling and through counselling have learnt some coping strategies. So here is how I coped with holiday money anxiety. In this case I jotted all my concerns down , the action I was going to take and when I would do this by. This helped put my anxiety into perspective . I realised that all I could do was email the letting agent and try find out what was going on . In addition to this I would cash out some money I had on Bittrex in order to see me through and not use the credit card. I am not ashamed to admit that the money I had on Bittrex had come from my Steemit posts so thank you readers for getting me out of a jam. When I get back to blighty (the UK) I intend to power up boost my rep and keep voting for all of you.

20180216_105923.jpg

Worry list thanks Apollo

With that all cleared up I could proceed to New York with a clear mind and plan of action. Your thoughts are not always real and anxious thoughts need to be lassoeed like wild horses and tamed with logic. So thank you to the greek god Apollo for this , Dionysis almost got me spooked.

So it was off to New York I went unfortunately with all the over thinking and dicking about I got my times mixed up and arrived around 2 hours to early. The Wifi in Chicago O’Hare airport sux but I figured I get some of my posts done in text format on a word document. Only thing I had to contend with was looking like the biggest blogging hipster knob. While I typed, I resisted the urge to punch myself in the back of the head. With my the back of my head punch free. I boarded my flight to New York. On the flight to New York I only had one thing on my mind

SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA SIX PACK AND PIZZA

I arrived in Brooklyn where my hotel and was feeling a bit vulnerable. I don't know I had not been to New York and forgot how raw it could be I navigated my way through the streets trying to not look like a frightened english lad. Despite my vulnerable state I saw this in an oasis of New York grime, a pizza place and a liquor store I knew where I was heading once I had checked into my hotel.

20180216_195548.jpg
Pizza place and liquor store , ain't that a sight for sore anxious eyes

I checked into my hotel got my pizza and six pack and lay on the bed and fell sleep with a shit eating grin on my face. I couldn't wait to revisit my old haunts in New York tomorrow.

20180216_203813.jpg

If you have the other post regarding this journey check out these links

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3

Sort:  

Lol, this is great. And oh man...I need some NY pizza again....

Thank you emotions queen

Yea are closer to NY pizza than I am ....let me know when you get some, take a pic and tag me in it .

haha that photo of the pizza is new york. ive never been, but i always see people with that kind of pizza lol

Yea the pizza is awesome and New Yorkers are super proud of if , dont mention the Chicago pizza they lose their shit hahaha.

can't go wrong with a slice of NY pizza - it's the best medicine for... well, everything! Hope your anxiety calmed itself down a bit for the rest of the trip :)

Hey thanks yea anxiety was fine just always around like a stone in your shoe. P.S: Such a moron forgot to put in the final pic have updated with final quintessential pic.

YESS oh man I really a pizza now..

Haha a pizza place and liquor store right next to each other. Excellent.

Also I really love this line:

Your thoughts are not always real and anxious thoughts need to be lassoeed like wild horses and tamed with logic.

I wish you the best brotha :)

Shabba.

Thanks man appreciate you quoting me back to me at least I know I dont just waffle on like a pretentious knob .

Good post and photos ;) Follow and upvote for you!

Thanks for the comment appreciate it

Livin la vida loca.
Awesome man.Saw your meeting with web gnar.
Good things happening

Yea man was awesome to meet a fellow skate steemit user

I'm actually really jealous of your trip mate. I've been living vicariously through you and these travel blogs haha.

Have a safe trip home.

Thanks mate good to know you reading them , sometimes you feel like you just throwing your words and experiences out into space only to be voted by bots. I came back from UK on Tues and straight into new job so been trying but I will get the rest of my trip up.

Haha I know the feeling of getting sucked back into real life and then losing the motivation to finish the travel bloggings. Try and get it done because it'll be cool even just for you to personally look back on at some stage further down the track. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08