Care for a beer ? Join me on my first Steemit/ Real life vacation and celebrate my current 50+ rep status.

in #travel6 years ago

FB_IMG_1518076364345.jpg
Me after a show in Minneapolis in a restaurant kitchen after hours

My fellow Steemians,

This time next week I will be in Chicago and hopefully I will either have met up with or will be meeting up with some fellow Steemians . In 7 days time this post will pay out and this got me thinking about maybe seeing if I could get some cheeky beers. The idea goes like this I let the Steemit community know about my cheeky travel intentions via this post. Then in 7 days time when I am at a bar in Chicago I will take a video of me calling out the names of the voters as I negotiate my beers (later to be paid for by STEEM/SBD or if I am with a Steemian I wll exchange for USD).

FB_IMG_1518076346510.jpg
Me shotgunning a beer in Baltimore, Part 1

At first I was thinking of converting the standard price of a beer in Chicago into the current Steem price but then I thought it was a bit cheeky just to ask people to send you money for beer . So I thought it would be cooler if I just use the money from this post and shout out the voters. However if you feel generous please feel free to convert your steem into beer for me to consume . If I receive any direct beer SBD / STEEM the only incentive I can think of is I will have to make a thank you song using these names. I will set the beer price at equivalent of 5 USD.

FB_IMG_1518076354273.jpg
Me shotgunning a beer in Baltimore, Part 2

Now that the begging for beer is over let me continue with this post and get down to the nitty gritty of what I have gained from being on Steemit since August 2017. People usually do milestone 500 followers post but I thought I would rather do a milestone post as I am on the brink of travelling to meet some Steemians.

Music

FB_IMG_1518076290838.jpg
Me playing a gig in New York

One of the things I love about Steemit is the ability for me to get my music listened to by a bunch of people but without trying to market it too hard. For me music and the creation of music is on the opposite side of the spectrum to marketing. Now I understand that it is good to market your music and get it out to people so more people can come to your shows but a lot of times it just becomes tacky. Your friends are your friends but it doesnt mean they have to come to every crappy show especially if they actually think you suck. By posting my music on Steemit and explaining the process of making the songs I feel like I am tacitly marketing and not explicitly ramming my music down peoples throats. This been a very rewarding approach and has been reflected in my Soundcloud stats

Screenshot from 2018-02-08 08-39-32.png
Soundcloud stats since I joined Steemit in August 2017

In addtion to this I have also had the oppurtunity to meet more fellow musicians and I have got to collaborate with them here is my latest collaborative effort

LINK

Skateboarding

FB_IMG_1518077176992.jpg
Pre-gig ollie in LA

This is a topic that is really starting to blossom on Steemit. When I first started the tags associated with skateboarding were pretty dire. However over the last month it has really started to progress thanks to @web-gnar with his weekly steemskate contest Link Here and @nicolcron posting sweet content.I hope to chat about increasing the skateboarding posts on Steemit when I hang out with @web-gnar in Chicago.

More reasons to travel

20180208_104756.jpg
Outside of the Motown museum in Detroit

Every since I went on my first tour I have loved the thrill, excitement and cavalier spirit of travelling. My motto on tour was “when its good enjoy it and when its bad it will become a great story”. When me and my old tour/ band mates get together the funniest stories are usually the ones where everything went wrong or nobody turned up , we didn't get paid ? The good gigs were great and I enjoyed them but the funny stories far outweigh that.One of my favourite experiences is shown in the opening picture in this post. It is after a gig in Minneapolis. Our tour driver/roadie/manager buddy , his flat mate worked at a restaurant and after the gig he opened up the restaurant and we had a private party/ feast complete with mac and cheese steaks and roast duck til the early hours.

FB_IMG_1518087404624.jpg
Hanging out Halloween SF

By immersing myself into the international community that is Steemit I hope to carry on this tradition by meeting up with Steemians and posting the weird and wonderful experiences I encounter. In addtion to this I hope to at some point even play gigs using the money I make from Steem . I can play with a full band of Steemians or just me and an acoustic . Give me a place to play bedroom,living room or bar and I will do the rest.

20180208_111718.jpg
En route to last gig of a three week tour, Niagra Falls

I chose to go to New York and Chicago as I have a lot of real friends out there so I thought it would be a good way to combine seeing old friends with meeting new Steemians. I have not had much love from New York but I am hoping to meet a fellow muscian skater called @webgnar and his gang in Chicago. If you any New Yorkers are keen to hang hit me up in the comments I will be based mainly around Brooklyn.

Itinerary is as follows

Chicago 13th - 16th Feb
New York 16th - 20th Feb

Hope to meet some of you freaks , Steem on

Sort:  

Sent you a couple SBDs for a beer on me :) Much love - Carl

Carl you legend now that means I have to make a song when I get back

Nice idea! Great to read Steemit helps you to connect with more likeminded wrt music. Do you use other social media or music forums to connect without other musicians and music enthousiast? Enjoy your travels!

Hey thanks for the comment , I guess the only other way I connect with other musicians is soundcloud but that blow

6 cents isn't goin to buy you a beer in NYC, but I will!

Its enough for a sip right

How cheeky indeed, here’s a beer on me. Next I expect a proper visit in south Florida!

Thanks Kubster your name will be mentioned in the raising of the beer

Shabbalien dey nay nay. Have an awesome trip man.

Yes son !!!! you too will be mentioned

you have a very colorful life. so much fun :)

Thank you glad you liked the post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44