The Butchart Gardens - Victoria, British Colombia, Canada (15 Original Photos)

in #travel7 years ago

The final stop on our Alaskan cruise was to the beautiful Butchart Gardens in Victoria Canada (British Colombia). For anyone who has not been to Victoria, it is an amazing place. The streets are lined with hanging flower baskets, perfectly manicured landscaping and the towns are very well-kept. The only downside we found was the tax, there was a high 16% sales tax on just about everything, with the flip-side of that being universal healthcare and other social services.

Victoria-Canada-00-SteemPowerPics.jpg

The gardens to a sight to behold, it was acres of blooming flowers as far as the eye could see in every color imaginable. Even the trees growing throughout had a mix of different color foliage and flowers in bloom. For seasonal reference, this was the first week of June.

Victoria-Canada-04-SteemPowerPics.jpg
Climbing Rose vines over 7 feet tall.

Victoria-Canada-05-SteemPowerPics.jpg
Rose archways tall enough to walk through.

Victoria-Canada-06-SteemPowerPics.jpg
A mix of evergreen and colorful deciduous trees.

Victoria-Canada-09-SteemPowerPics.jpg
Purple and blue Hydrangea

Victoria-Canada-08-SteemPowerPics.jpg
Yellow Dahlias

Victoria-Canada-07-SteemPowerPics.jpg
White/Pink Dahlias

Victoria-Canada-11-SteemPowerPics.jpg
Bright Pink Lilies and Dahlias

Victoria-Canada-10-SteemPowerPics.jpg
There were many original Totem Poles around the property.

We were definitely happy with our decision to tour the gardens. It was a perfect ending to our Alaskan cruise. If you ever get a chance to take a similar cruise, I highly recommend doing so, you won't regret it.

If you missed my previous posts from this cruise you can find them here:
Alaska's Mendenhall Glacier - Tongass National Forest, Juneau Alaska
Alaska's Icebergs - Cruising the Fjords of Glacier Bay National Park



Let me know what you think, please leave your comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this Please ReSteem it!


Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

It's very beautiful there, I especially like the tall rose wines, it looks almost like fantasy land !

Yes, that's true. It didn't look real at first, just rows and walls of the roses. I remember how strong the rose smell was, even at a distance.

I have always wanted to take an Alaskan cruise. The pictures are amazing. I love all the colors of the flowers. I'm sure that the garden was more beautiful in person!! I will have to check out your other posts!

Thank you. Yeah it was so beautiful and the different flower smells were everywhere as you walked around.

I didn't even think about the smells! I was just thinking about the colors! I imagine it was quite a shock to the senses! A nice one!

It looks amazing there, I wish I would have gone there when I stayed in Victoria!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by steempowergarden from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 7.33 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @steempowerpics. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Awesome pictures. I remember the totem poles from my own 2010 cruise. The one thing I noticed on the island is how unfriendly the people were. The Canadians I work with would fall over themselves to be nice to every living being/creature. Not so on Victoria Island. As I walked around, I said hello/hi to so many people and they wouldn't even make eye contact. I was told a lot of the actors/actresses and famous people live there. Did you experience this?

Did you get pictures from Skagway? That was my favorite.

I earned 5btc for one month with trader bot,
earn bitcoins today with Best Bot http://gmy.su/:sNVk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51