📸 Beautiful Beaches of St. Thomas & St. John - 6 Panoramic Photos from our Cruise by SteemPowerPics

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I wanted to take some time to share pictures from the hurricane ravaged islands of St. Thomas & St. John. These are a few panoramic pictures taken 1 year ago of the island's famous turquoise waters and white sand beaches as they were before Hurricane Irma devastated the islands last week.

We have been left speechless by the first images coming out of the islands we love so much and spent the last few days going through our cruise albums looking at pictures not knowing when we will be able to visit there again. The islanders are generally good people and it gives us a sense of helplessness seeing their loss at a distance.

Panoramic-StThomas-SteemPowerPics.jpg

As you may already know, I have a passion for photography and whenever we travel I like to spend a little extra time capturing wide panoramic photos of the landscapes. Many of these pictures and ones coming in my next post of St. Martin will be printed in large format on metal or canvas and hung up around the house.

I hope you enjoy these photos of the way things were, and hopefully become again in time...

Panoramic-StThomas-01-SteemPowerPics.jpg

Panoramic-StThomas-02-SteemPowerPics.jpg

Panoramic-StThomas-03-SteemPowerPics.jpg

Panoramic-StThomas-04-SteemPowerPics.jpg

Panoramic-StThomas-05-SteemPowerPics.jpg

Oasis-02-SteemPowerPics.jpg

The Oasis of the Seas ship we were sailing on in Royal Caribbean's custom designed port in St. Thomas built just to fit the Oasis class cruise ships.

Oasis-01-SteemPowerPics.jpg

The images coming out of the islands directly impacted by the hurricane are showing 90-100% of all forest and vegetation have been stripped from the islands. The tropical forests on these islands will take decades to recover and will most likely never be the same again.

Panoramic-StThomas-06-SteemPowerPics.jpg
Before and After View of the islands from Space.


!steemitworldmap 18.3387128 lat -64.8095491 long Beautiful Beaches of St. Thomas & St. John - 6 Panoramic Photos from our Cruise by SteemPowerPics! D3SCR

What is this? This is a location marker for the @SteemitWorldMap project by @blueorgy and @martibis. By placing a location marker tag in your travel post it will show up on SteemitWorldmap.com



Let me know what you think, please leave your comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this Please ReSteem it!


Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Love the photos, especially the ones with the cruise ship. And wow at those satellite photos. What's even crazier is that now there's another hurricane headed for the Caribbean: Maria.

Hey Tech, thanks. Yeah I like doing the panoramic shots of the islands, it's the only way to really capture the full extent of the beauty.

It's heartbreaking to know they are facing CAT4 just a week after a CAT5.

Did you take these photos with an iPhone, or do you have a special lens or something?

They were taken with my Fujifilm XP80 sport camera. It has a good panoramic mode built in. I also use my Samsung S5 at times, but the resolution is better on the Fuji for large format printing.

Nice. I have a Canon Rebel 2Ti, but I've never bothered checking if it has the panoramic mode built in. I'm gonna do that now :-)

:-) Yeah my Nikon does not have it, just the smaller fuji sport camera.

Well you want to check out my latest post on weather control then... Sad... Also I found it weird that all those clouds seem to form around vertical up/down lines.. Weird.

This deserves some attention. Upvoted and resteemed...

Thank you for the support Kate. I appreciate it!

Really sad to see this my friend! We have cyclones here in our region, and i've witnessed some very powerful ones destroying everything on their passage! Not something I wish to live again!
Oh no another one coming? That's not good. let's pray for the best.

So true - we have been lucky the last 12 years, kind of a dry spell for major hurricanes. This year Mother Nature is unloading on us all over here.

And yet I see some articles on Steemit that claim these hurricanes are hyped, I have lived through two devastating ones, one left 5,000 dead and the other one over 10,000, these things are no conspiracy theory are as real as anything can get.

For sure! They are no joke. It tore us a new hole here in Florida as well, but mild compared to what they suffered in the islands.

And now to add insult to injury we have Hurricane Maria expected to be a CAT 4 into the St Thomas area and PR again by Wednesday.

Yes, I've been monitoring that, it's a really bad year.

This post has received a 12.99 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @steempowerpics. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-9-20-17

You have received a Whaleshare Token upvote (@officialfuzzy) thanks to @akrid and you have received an upvote from me as well.

Keep up the good work and original content, we appreciate it!

Thank you @bethalea for the support!

Hi @steempowerpics, I see you have mentioned me.
This is automatic response so that I may respond to your mention later.

Terrible and sad hurricane-after pics. Hope the islands recover soon. Mother nature has its way of healing itself.

I hope so. They were beautiful islands with such nice people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74