You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When in Rabat, do as the Romans and go to Chellah

in #travel6 years ago

Rabat looks beautiful. Morocco has an interesting history and even better architecture. Although I find it hard to decide if I like it. I’ve been to Marrakesh and liked it, but not till a certain level I thought I would. I certainly didn’t love it. The architecture and the food was great. I think it was the people and/or the culture. I can relate
With you about the people leading you the way and immediately expecting money for it. Or for what it’s worth it could be Marrakesh itself being to touristy resulting me having this dilemma =) I would love to hear what you think of the country in general.

Sort:  

We can actually relate quite a lot with your comment since we've also been to Marrakesh and liked it but only to a certain extent. Sure, the food was a delight and the architecture was beautiful, but the whole vibe of the city wasn't exactly to our liking, and especially because of all the scams you've mentioned and attitudes we've encountered. That's why we're glad we've explored Morocco further since Rabat was a really pleasant surprise: the architecture was great as well and the sites less visited, and the people there were much more relaxed. We also visited Fes, which is another Imperial city just like Marrakesh with an incredible medina and great surroundings, and once again the locals were much friendlier there. If you can, you should give both these cities a try to get another glimpse into Morocco! :)

Thanks for this extensive reaction to my comment :) A friend of us also did a roundtrip through the country and loved it. I guess Marrakesh is not the best place to make up your mind about the country ;) Enjoy the rest of your trip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32