The North-Coast 500: from Lochcarron to Rhiconich [Second leg]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: The North-Coast 500: from Lochcarron to Rhiconich [Second leg]


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

More great photos! All of your shots make it looks so deserted! Were you visiting in the off season or is it truly not that busy up there? Great descriptions of the drive! It does look pretty magical :) Happy wandering, Amanda

Well, we were there in August and September, so certainly not low season! It really is not that busy. Of course there were times I waited until that one car behind us had passed before taking the shot, but that's really all there was to it to create the 'deserted' look in all my pictures. It is magical indeed, and many times you will feel at 'the end of the world' :-)

This part of Scotland looks beautiful! Another area I haven’t heard of. Thanks for sharing! Rule number 1 when driving: never trust Google Maps! ;)

Ah, yes, it does, doesn't it?! Don't trust Google Maps or any map for that matter! :D

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Scotland and Wales are two parts of the UK with very interesting speed limits on the very interesting rollercoaster roads! But never the less, I love it every time we go there. Of course, being based in Birmingham, we prefer to head to Wales! But we do travel to Scotland as well from time to time!

I'm really excited for you to be able to relatively easily travel to both of these gorgeous places! Wales is on my list too, I wanted to add it to this itinerary, but decided a month in Scotland would fill up quickly as well, so we postponed Wales to a separate holiday (to be planned in the future.)

I'm going to follow your account in the hopes of seeing some more Wales and Scotland pictures in my feed! :-)

I guessed how perfect Scotland was. It's at the head of the countries I want to see. And I am the other end of the world :)
I will have to make a lot of money to make this trip. :)) and hopefully one day I will make this visit
excellent pictures and expression made me very excited.
I thank you for this.

You are a very talented artist and I believe you would create great photography and/or paintings over here! It will be worth your money. I hope you will be able to save up and go!

Love road trips and nature like this but what really got my attention was the photo of the steering wheel inside the car. You should upload that one to photo stock agency. Photos like that are always in need.

Great suggestion! I might log in to some old stock accounts and add this to the portfolio :-)

Another confirmation of what beautiful landscape Scotland has. I am also impressed by the fact that the local B&B do not have the website. Easy enough to lose the way looking for it.

It's very 'normal' to just arrive at a B&B on the day itself and ask for a room. That's why they are all in a registry, but not really promoting themselves via their own website :-)

I see that sounds interesting the fact that they they do not need a website. Thanks

Amazing landscape, looks a bit like the north of Sweden. Emptiness and magnificent nature. Glad you arrived safely in the end;) I feel after seeing all your photos from Scotland that this should be on my list.

I'm glad my pictures have reached their goal! To get more people to the lovely Scotland! It truly is one of my favourite places to go :-)

Such a great travesy! thank you very much for sharing!

And thank you for commenting! :-)

Another of my most favorite places back home! I love the west coast, so thanks for the trip back there! There is such sad history behind all the ruined houses you see in the glens, but they add an aura of mystique which you captured! Thanks!

We stayed in the Lochcarron Hotel in 2016. We had a great dinner there to celebrate my birthday! Waking up to the view of Loch Carron was heavenly!

Oh man, you stayed there too! I was so humbled by their friendliness :-) I lost a 5$ scarf that I was even though cheap very attached to, and I left it in the hotel! I sent them an e-mail, with my address, with the question if they wanted to send it back home and if I could transfer the cost they made... They just replied "Yes, we found it, I will bring it to the post office soon" - And when I arrived back in The Netherlands it was already on the door mat :D

What can you tell me about those abandoned houses? I'm really curious because everything abandoned in the Netherlands is always demolished immediately! So I'm not used to seeing an abandoned anything here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45