You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beggar Conflict: Tight Pockets, Exploring Compassion, And Making A Difference (Or Not)...

in #travel7 years ago

I think part of the issue is wanting to help in the most helpful way. Should I go at the root and try to end global poverty and the neglect of the mentally ill and veterans? Fight for universal basic income or at least living wage? Give cash? Give food? I think it's some combination. Working to end the problems created by systemic inequality and capitalism gone wild (like the girls gone wild videos but with corporate CEOs and boards just gorging and polluting and cheating) is crucial. But some temporary assistance is also needed. I try to just go with my gut. I can usually smell a scammer, and I don't like giving to them because, well, honesty. I don't necessarily care if people are going to use it for drugs or liquor because everybody needs to cope, and they have a lot to cope with. I don't know what it's like to be in those shoes. I'd probably want liquor too. Everybody has a story, and it helps me to remember that. I have no idea how they got there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32