How time flies when you're having fun!

in #travel6 years ago

Here are some pictures from my recent visit to my son,

his girlfriend and my two grandchildren in Sweden.
They live at about 15 minutes from Gothenburg
on an island called Köpstadsö (pronounced Sjupstaetseuw),
which can only reached by boat, helicopter or ... swimming.

Arriving late in the evening and with me, quite some luggage
and presents, swimming was not the best option,
the chopper was in the hangar for some maintenance (kidding),
so obviously I took the ferry.

Not this one btw
IMG_4806.JPG
This pic I shot the next morning


As well one from
IMG_4790.JPG
the chopper (landing zone) platform


And one of a ferry passing by
IMG_4791.JPG
on his way to one of the other islands nearby


Their house
IMG_3861.JPG
(at 10 minutes walking distance from the port)


Left, Ariana, now 2 years old and Mick, getting 4 in december
IMG_4765.JPG
watching one of their favorite cartoons


Mick, AKA: the next @tomber, busy making his famous
IMG_4779.JPG
(imaginary) Köttbullar (meatballs)


Dennis my son, wrassling a bit with Ariana
IMG_4786.JPG
'More, more, more, daddy'

The two of them, ready
IMG_4789.JPG
to go to the crèche/kindergarten.


A blurry pic maybe, but
IMG_4797.JPG
dinner in the backyard


Ariana had her birthday the 19th and I had a big challenge
IMG_4798.JPG
I was asked to make the cake (the first one in my life!)


No, I wasn't forcing them to eat, there was just already
IMG_0009.JPG
a piece missing, which the two little ones were "responsible" for.


The whole bunch together
XDTM9147.JPG
Dennis, Mick, Marja and Ariana


CU Back in December, Love you all, kisses



+++

Warning.jpg

Comments like ‘nice post’, ‘good job’, bot-like reply’s and more of this kind of bullshit
will be ignored and/or could be rewarded with a nice and well deserved flag.
Write something meaningful or funny, but at least to the point or go away.
And … stay away.
Resteems appreciated.
Thanks.


smassshwashere.png

Sort:  

sir @smasssh you deserve that vacation, and you have a great son and enthusiastic. Sweden is indeed a great place to go during summer time, they have excellent beaches and excellent chicks. lol

I agree, especially on that last part! 😎

Köttbullar meatballs. I had to look that up. Never been to Sweden, looks nice overthere. And i love meatballs so i must try that. Can you buy that special herb mix over here as well? Maybe in IKEA.😄

Hahaha. To be honest, personally I hate Ikea.
Anyway, going to a Hemköp or ICA Maxi (both Hypermarkets) I'm sure you'll find what you're looking for. Been to quite some "Hypermarkets" while living in France, but those are "flies" compared to the swedish ones.

Btw, Can my grandson call you to exchange some meatball recipes with you?, because they're really great (ofcourse), but got the impression that they all taste a bit the same. 😆

Of course he can. Chefs always need to share recipes in my opinion. But i also have that problem with imaginary meatballs, i can’t find the right seazoning.👨🏻‍🍳

looks like a happy family to me - next time swim and post about it..LOL

It not only looks like, they are.
Haha, do not know the exact temperature of the water, but cold enough to not make it till the end.
Since knowing that kiwiscanfly I think I'm gonna "breed" them. How much do you recommend so that they can bring me to the island?

You niece and nephew are SOOOO blond! I wish I was the same. I love blond hair.

Must be because you're italian I think. Been a lot in Italy in my youth and remember the italian people always adoring blond children. I was that "lucky" as well, lol.

Btw they are my grandchildren, am granddaddy already, but no problem.

You old soul!

hahaha, but young at heart (and actions). 😇

I always had a dream to visit those kind of places in Sweden, Norway, Iceland, Alaska, etc. which you can only visit by a plane or a boat.

It kind of reminds me of Shutter Island, if you watched that movie.

I laughed so hard at the pronunciation of Köpstadsö (Sjupstaetseuw).

Swedish sounds as a pretty weird language to the rest of us.

hehe Got me thinking am i the only one thinking this is funny (Sjupstaetseuw) Sounds cool.

@smasssh gezellig boeltje daar zo ze zien.. Ik heb zo'n gevoel dat ze even 3 kinderen hadden haha

Hahaha. I vroeg me al af waarom de vlag werd gehesen toen ik vertrok. Hèhè, eindelijk rust.

I've seen the movie too. Good one.
Yes, it sounds like if it's a diffcult language. To me it's a mixture of English, Dutch and German if you READ it. But when you hear them speaking it's abracadabra.

Yes, I know cuz I have a few friends from Sweden.

The thing that intrigues me most is that most of them speak pretty good English with good accents (nothing like Russian/Indian English), and their language sounds nothing like English.

Exactly. And even most of the older generation speak it fluently as well.

Lovely family, I'm sure imaginary meatballs were delicious :) Next time presents in a waterproof bag and fighting brainfreeze in water :D

Thanks man, yep they were fingerlicking good.
Some 15 years ago, I still would have been "crazy" enough to at least try to get swimming to the other side. But now ... (especially being a granddad) a man should know his limitations.

Definitely yea xD you can be crazy enough to jump in now but who knows if your heart is as strong as it used to be :D

Leuke blog,met leuke en mooie foto's.Je zoon woont in zweden vindt ik wel speciaal je moet het maar doen zie dat je genoten hebt ook top
groetjes smasssh

Dankjewel. Ja, was met de auto en (maar) 10 dagen, maar is (even los van skype etc.) vanzelfsprekend altijd geweldig om live te zien hoe het met je "offspring" gaat.

Hahah fun! Nice pictures :-) Always great to visit family!

Thanks, was great indeed!

which can only reached by boat, helicopter or ... swimming.

Since you tried chopper (in your mind) and ferry already, next time you should try the swimming lol 😆. BTW: nice place your son lives in and beautiful family!

Thanks. 15 minutes by ferry is at least 2 hours swimming. And, then I can't bring presents next time, lol

do the meatballs taste like the ikea meatballs?? :DD

Wow, and I thought I lived in a remote area..this is even further away from everything. Kind of cool though actually.

Get the yacht man, make a fashionable entry when visiting next time

No, Mick has his own special recipe for those meatballs.

And about that yacht; don't think that the value of Steem is already high enough in december (when I have planned my next visit) to afford me one.

True..that might be a bit out of leage as yet..

The year after! I will park my big fat yacht back in the caribbean hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77