Feeling awesome and blue

in #travel5 years ago

It is not very often that I get to do something that is cool and food related, but today I have just the thing to make all of your stomachs envious.

Is that how I should say it? Is it "all of your stomachs" or does that make it sound like you are cows with many stomachs?

Anyway my bovine friends... This weekend we visited the grandparent's summer cottage and got to do something bloody awesome (excuse my Australian) which was, picking blueberries and eating them straight out of the forest! How fantastic is that!!

I don't get to have a lot of fresh food due to my allergies yet blueberries seem to go well enough and I ate a lot of them as they were everywhere. I ate, and ate and ate and there was always more of those blue balls of the gods -

that doesn't sound right either...

.. to find in the forest.

Mummi gave me a bucket so I could collect them up but that just slowed down my eating so I ditched that idea and shoveled them in as fast as my little fingers could rip their juicy goodness from the bushes.

The trick with hunting blueberries in the forest is:

  • Live in Finland.

I think that is about it. While we were at the cottage, our apartment is surrounded by wild blueberry bushes also so while Daddy is at work, I am planning to go and hunt and cull those blueberries in the forest like uncle @galenkp does kangaroos in Australia. I don't do any of that long scope out at 1600-meter nonsense like him though - I like to get up close and personal and get my hands dirty.

And my face.

Bath in the blood of blueberries just like the Vikings of old would do. I am pretty sure that is historically accurate, but just in case it is not

I am not yet three years old, so why are you getting history lessons from me?

Like seriously, I ate so many blueberries I am not sure if my lips will ever lose the color they have turned and I am unsure if pink dinosaur shirt will forgive me for the blueberry finger prints that somehow got onto her.

In this last picture you can see me holding the skeletal remains of a blueberry branch that I stripped of its flesh, just before I tossed it away into the bushes to warn its friends of their coming fate.

You will learn to fear me - blueberries..

It really was a lot of fun to do this and it is pretty amazing that it is possible to get such superfood like wild blueberries (yes, yes, bilberries @celestal) straight from the forest. In the Autumn, these will be replaced by my favorite of favorites - Lingonberries and Mummi and Pappa promised to collect a whole bunch for me to put into the freezer instead of buying them from the shop for a while.

Finland has some great things in the forest to eat and the berries are fantastically tasty. I love that I am able to go into nature and not only play some awesome games, but have my snack right there. All I need now is to find one of the other things that I can eat from the forest here . reindeer.

For that, I might need uncle @galenkp and his scope though.

Do you have food you can find in nature where you live?
Go eat!

<3
Smallsteps

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

What a fun adventure you had! And delicious too ❤️

It immediately reminded me of this book -

Blueberries for Sal
3D3341F8-90D4-4495-A4B9-76D3B247B119.jpeg

It was one of my little’s favorite books. I’m not sure if your Daddy has read it to you yet, but if not.. maybe ask him to add it to your list. Or ask your super cool uncle to pretty please send it your way. I think you would really like it 😊 ❤️

Little Sal didn't realize the pail was slowing her down - amateur.

I will ask Daddy to find it for me as uncle sends so much stuff he will need a second job to cover the postage.

:*

Haha, so CUTE!

And now I’m hungry for blueberries...

Posted using Partiko iOS

I could ask you around for some of mine, but that would be pointless because I have none left. :)

Huh not sure how I hadn't come across this blog before - this adorbs! I know where to come for my viking history now, that is for sure :joy:

I have accurate histories on many things. Mostly I forget the his and just tell stories though.
Welcome back anytime :)

Enjoy the awesome fruits and days with the family!

Posted using Partiko iOS

They were gorgeous! the fruits were good too.

Language young lady!

Not that I can say much given some of the things my (much older than you) children say, we would definitely watch our foul little mouths around you so you don't learn anything that might get you in trouble with your parents XD

Flesh Fresh blueberries are the best! And don't worry about the shirt, if the juice doesn't come out well those colours go great together anyway so now you've just made it unique. Hopefully they'll help deal with your allergies too, blueberries are loaded with good stuff.

You're lucky they're just outside, we might try growing some but I suspect we may not have quite the right climate.

And yeh you'll definitely need Uncle Galen if you want to eat a reindeer XD

Language young lady!

I learn it from Mummy - "like a trooper" would be the best way to express her communication style.

You're lucky they're just outside, we might try growing some but I suspect we may not have quite the right climate.

It is pretty awesome, Daddy can go out and get me some for my morning porridge.

And yeh you'll definitely need Uncle Galen if you want to eat a reindeer XD

I think that he would enjoy it a lot. no spiders, snakes, crocodiles, sharks.. just a an innocent deer and and a gun with a long-range scope - the way nature intended.

So adorable!

Hi @smallsteps!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.501 which ranks you at #6903 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 202 places in the last three days (old rank 6701).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 135 contributions, your post is ranked at #18.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been upvoted by Rada Quest Team. Join our 3DK Render Discord to get more valuable votes and stay tuned about our activities.
RadaQuest_Separador.png

She looks very cute and the blueberry is so fresh!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80