The Meaning of The Gate to The Buddha Statue

in #travel6 years ago

Finally I stood on the ground of the temple, the road to the temple was not far from the below.
But my painful knee was disturbing me to enjoy the beauty of the road.
So when I got to the temple, I was so happy.

P9010341.JPG

The temple was small. It must be built for protecting the statue. And it needed to walk more than 10 minutes to get to the the statue from the temple.

One thing made me interesting was the gate, the gate was the last of the Buddhist gate to enter the temple.

P9010103.JPG

As I posted before, there are 4 kinds of the gates in Korean Buddhist temple. What I saw there was the last gate among them. It was ‘Haetal mun’, it could be interpreted as ‘the gate of enlightenment’.

Suddenly I realize the gate stood in opposite side.
The gate must be at the front area of the main hall in tempe, but that gate was standing at the rear area of the temple.
At first I thought it must be a mistake, but soon I could notice the intention of reversed direction of the gate. There could not be a mistake in such an important arrangement of the structures.
There is a meaning always in such an unusual situation.

The reason was they tried to make whole mountain as the temple.
Standing the gate at the rear of the temple, the whole mountain was becoming the temple.
Of course, the Buddha statue on the rock became the main Buddha statue of this mountain temple.

Astonishing the grandiose design, I passed through the gate.
After 10 minutes walking, finally I could meet with the smile of Baekjae dynasty.

There stood a great stone and it seemed to have waited for us for more than 1500 years.

P9010123.JPG

Sort:  

@slowwalker,
Wow how great they thought to get the entire mountain as a temple! How broad they thought and I believe everything happens with Buddhist teachings! People got broad mind and they thought in different angel! That's great you found and interpret it as it is! I wish to see that buddha's statue in your next post!

Cheers~

These doors look like a toy Chinese set. They are bright and perfect...

@slowwalker, It's sad to hear your knee pain again. Hope you'll get better. Small temple but better place to be relax and I can see beauty of there. Final huge stone has longest history as you told here. Absolutely perfect photo clicks.

What a beautiful place. To think how long these have stood while so much has changed in the world around them.

The magnificent temple. It looks very beautiful. Make a great statue from the mountain !!!

Великолепній храм. Выглядит очень красиво. Сделать с горы статую великолепная идея!!!

Buenas noches amigo @slowwalker , exelentes imágenes del templo , deseo que se mejore de la rodilla y gracias por visitar mi poste y ayudarme con su voto , ya que soy de Venezuela y estamos viviendo una grabé crisis económica y muchos venezolanos hemos acudido a esta plataforma para ayudarse y poder sobre vivir. Le deseo que tenga una feliz noche y estare pendiente a sus publicaciones amigo .

I would like to visit a temple like this sometime. Great post and awesome pics! Keep it up!

woww so great

Great place! I would like to visit there and feel the energy of these ancient Buddhist temples. Thanks for the great photos, my friend @slowwalker!

Unique and beautiful images @slowwalker, rarely do other people do it, amazing friends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59073.90
ETH 2519.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48