The House of King Cheol Jong’s Uncle in Gangwhado Island in Korea

in #travel6 years ago

After Breakfast, we were heading for the house of king Chel Jong ’s uncle.
We visited this house for it’s 19th century’s typical traditional architecture style.

Before explaining the house, we need to know who the king Chel Jong was.
Chel Jong was king’s family, but his father lost his power and sent to Gangwhado due to the power struggle in palace.
Even though Cheol Jong was king’s close family, he had lived as ordinary people in Gangwhado.
He needed to work for his meal and there was no relatives except his uncle who was elder brother of his mother. He was raised as a common people by his uncle.

Chel Jong was happy in Gangwhado, There was a his girl friend of ordinary family.

But his life was changed totally with the death of King Soon Jo. King Soon Jo had not a child, so the crown was given to Chel Jong. When the officials visited Chen Jong to take him to the palace, it was said that Chel Jong had escaped to somewhere in the thinking that they tried to to kill him.

Anyway he entered into the Palace and became a king at 18 years old. He had sat in king’s chair for 15 years. He died at age of 34.

It was said that King Cheol Jong had missed his girlfriend in Gangwhado for all his life in palace.

There is only one portrait of Chel Jong. In his portrait, you can notice his eyes were somewhat strange. He looked at side direction, not at front.

He had no kids. So another relative took the Crown, and Choson Dynasty went to fall into the process of collapse.

The one thing King Chel Jong had done with his own will was giving a house to his uncle.
It was not easy to find this house.
The house was located in far away from the street.

here was no one except us to visit this house.

It was a traditional noble house in 19 century in Choson.

The house was not so large as to say Kings present.

But this house was far away from other village. It looked like an exile.

It seemed that they tried to keep king’s uncle away from others using this opportunity of presenting house to king’s uncle.

His uncle never had had a chance to see King Cheol Jong again.

I don’t know what the political power is. But the political power seems to have been ruining people’s life.


(family shrine)

As sitting on the balcony and looking the field through the main gate, I was recalling the life of Cheol Jong and the meaningless of the life.

Sort:  

철종의 역사를 잘 설명하셨네요
감사합니다. 외국인에게 많은 도움이 될것 같습니다.

"His uncle never had had a chance to see King Cheol Jong again"
It's seems like the king does not want is Uncle to interfere in his relationship

Thanks @slowwalker for this great story...hence why I always read your posts and send in my support...great contents indeed.

In my latest post (pls see it) I indicated an abuse going on here and I want you to see it and take action. I wish you more success.

WHAT A BEAUTIFUL LOCATION

interesting, thnks

Outstanding post and Amazing photos . Thank you for sharing! resteem

Wow! This story is really beautiful. I love it.... Resteem straight up.

Check out my Story if you're pleased..... I need comments for the second episode.
https://steemit.com/story/@basonrich/the-lady-or-the-tiger-20171226t134845947z

I super agree @barca have you been to Korea yourself? I envy people who did. My Korea experience are only from the movie and during cultural exchange during Korean week here

Interesting post with eye catching captures kinda took me back in time while reading this...
thanks for sharing! @slowwalker

this is a good story friend,
I hope my friends are always bhagia there.
my friend there is a new post please visit friends for a while maybe there is a likes.

upvote and resteem.

this wonderful story is very pleasing to friends

I have to say that this is an amazing post. I am really interested in the Korean history. Hopefully, I can visit this wonderful place once.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99