The 16 Disciples Sculptures Of Buddhism I Saw In Bongwon-sa Temple

in #travel6 years ago

It was on occasion that I could find out the 16 Disciples sculptures in Bongwon-sa temple on the way to my home.

_6060754.JPG

The 16 Disciples were located near the entrance to the temple though, I couldn’t noticed them when I entered into the temple.
Those sculptures were covered by the trees, so it was not easy to notice those sculptures at once.

_6060757.JPG

When I saw those sculptures, it was somewhat weird.

There were many similarities between Christianity and Buddhism.
What I'd like to introduce one of those similarities is the Disciples and the Apostles

There are 12 apostles in Christianity.
And there are 16 apostles in Buddhism.

As long as I know, the role and the function between Buddhist 16 Disciples and Jesus’s 12 Apostles was not so different.

They had played decisive role in theorizing and propagating their teacher’s teaching.

There were many 16 Disciples sculptures in Buddhist temple. But it was first time where I saw those Disciples sculptures outside.

I am not a Buddhist, so I don’t know well about those 16 Buddhist Disciples.
So I could not introduce each Disciples in detail.
But if you looked at those Disciples carefully, you could imagine the atmosphere of those Disciples.
Those Disciples sculptures were so vivid.

I took each faces of those 16 Disciples.
The first one seemed the most important figure among all Disciples like Peter in Christianity.

_6060755.JPG

_6060758.JPG

Each sculptures seemed to have their specific characteristics.

_6060760.JPG

_6060768.JPG

_6060769.JPG

_6060770.JPG

Below looks like Dharma

_6060771.JPG

_6060772.JPG

Most of the sculptures looked like to show the extreme practice of asceticism.

_6060775.JPG

_6060776.JPG

_6060774.JPG

_6060779.JPG

_6060780.JPG

Their appearance looked scarcely at first, but those looks seemed results of the strict self-mortification.

Sort:  

They are so pretty status I like to watch them

Yes, it was interesting

They are very expressive! Some reassuring atre much less reassuring. Beautiful. They deserve a better context though ...

Very interesting travel blog!

there is many types of religion. all the religion have same motive. any one have slide differnce.the way is different but they all reach same place..buddism is also not a religion it is a theory. so christianity buddism have the is way difference , same thing in my idea..

Interesting, thanks for sharing!

Wow, this is unbelievable. I can't believe the detail with each sculpture. Interesting some look terrified...I'm wondering of what? I would love to hear more details about this museum. I like your comparison between buddhisma and christianity, very interesting. Great post

Thank you so much

저는 @slowwalker 님이 봉원사 스님이신 줄 알았어요 ㅎㅎ
봉원사 볼거리가 무궁무진하네요
오늘 조각들은 흥미진진하네요 처음보는 조각들입니다.
꼭 한번 가보고 싶네요
재료가 대리석인가요? 특이하네요. 한국에선 흔치 않은 재료입니다.
화강석으로 저 정도 표현이 거의 불가능해보이거든요
I thought Slow Walker was a Buddhist monk.
The Bongwon Temple is full of things to see.
Today's sculptures are exciting -- they're the first pieces I've seen.
I really want to go there.
Is the material marble? It's unique. It is a rare material in Korea.
It looks almost impossible to express that kind of thing.

대리석이더군요.
봉원사도 천년의 역사가 숨쉬고 있는 곳입니다

every sculpture face reactions is totally different and all of these doing the different tasks. Last one is look a like very tired and shocked may be.
@slowwalker thanks to share and you also ask someone about every sculpture and share with us we want to know about these history also.

Thank you so much

@slowwalker sorry for that but i have mentioned you in my new post tag so please check this thank you..

@slowwalker sorry for that but i have mentioned you in my new post tag so please check this thank you..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97