Characteristics in Seon Am Sa Temple : The Ponds steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

There was another characteristics but divided space by wall. It was the ponds.
I hadn’t had noticed the presence of the ponds in the temple until I saw the ponds in Seon Am Sa temple.

I don’t know anything about why there were several ponds in Seon Am Sa.
In my memory there were no special meaning relating to the ponds in ordinary temples. Even the ponds were not common case in different temples except Seon Am Sa.

Especially in many cases the ponds were not included in the main area of the temple.
But in Seon Am Sa, the ponds were located in the main area of the temple.

There was the pond at the entrance.

21.jpg

_A280001.JPG

At the center of the main building, the ponds were arranged by the central road.

23.jpg

26.jpg

There must be some reason why they arranged the ponds in the temple.
The stone things at the center of the ponds reminded me of Yin Yang theory.
It means this temple might be influenced from Taoism.
Actually the architectural style of Seon Am Sa seemed so much influenced from Taoism.
In Korean Religion, religions tended to be mixed each other.

Sort:  

@slowwalker,
I like that 2nd photography most! Now it's the end of this year and we are moving to 2019! I wish you a great of luck and success in the new year and hope to see more great travel experiences as well!

Cheers~

Wow its a amaizing small pond with water haycinth. When see this photo i Remember my home village pond.thanks sir @slowwalker for making this vlog

Posted using Partiko Android

Woww....sooo cute and lovely photoshoot... My dear friend i love your photos... 💕💞😍

I was about to ask what the stone in the middle of the pond represented, but I'm glad I saw the reason, the water seems very fresh and I love the scattered leaves afloat the pond, so many beautiful shots, wow I love them

Amazing work.
Happy new year dear @slowwalker.
Resteemed :-)

Happy New year! 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Seon Am Sa is one of my favorite temples in Korea.
I remember seeing the fallen leaves on the surface of the pond near the entrance and it was so very beautiful.
Well, it was long long time ago and I never had another chance to visit there but I can still remember the ambience of the temple, the leaves on the surface of the pond and the yellow ginsang tree leaves in the forest on the way to the temple.
Thanks for reminding me of my good old memory :)

Great to check this out amazing info and pics :)

Wishing you a very happy new year 2019 (^_^)

Your phitograph remind me about balancing our life. Water as an element if our life and then the temple buid ponds. Ecologically ponds will provide water which useful to make environment cooller.
That my thought only @slowwalker
Thank you for your post and then our knowledge wider and better.
Warm regard from Indonesia

I've found the temples with ponds the most soothing. I found one in Vietnam that was all pond and walkways for walking meditation

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45