A Stone Lantern of Godalsa Temple Place of Goryeo Dynasty in the Museum Park

in #travel5 years ago

There stood a stone lantern which was brought from Godalsa temple.
My mom and I dropped by ruined Godalsa temple place in this winter.
At that time I heard some of relics were moved to other place.
The stone lantern was one of them.

5.JPG

3.JPG

I felt sorry to the lantern.
I could not understand why they moved this lantern from its original place.
In my opinion, the relics could preserve their value when they kept their original place.

Anyway, this lantern was believed at the very beginning period of Goryeo dynasty. Therefore, it was strongly influenced from Silla style.
The carving style was excellent, there was a difference from that of Silla style.
It was a pasture of lions.
In Godalsa temple case, lions were looking forward.

4.JPG

The representative lantern with lion statue could be said that of Beopjoosa temple which was made at Silla dynasty.
Lions were looking forward upward. It looked so powerful. I seemed to show the power and the temper of Silla people when they unified Korea peninsular at first time.

법주사석등.jpeg

But in my opinion, lions of Godalsa temple was not so much powerful as that of Beopjoosa.

It made me think there must be quite different atmosphere among people between Silla and Goryeo.
Even though Goryeo barely had unified Korean Peninsula again like Silla.
They didn’t seem to preserve active power as Silla had when they unified before.

Sort:  

@slowwalker,
It's the 2nd time I have seen the lantern that holds by Lions! And also I am strongly agree with you about moving those statues and other historical items out of it's original place! It might reduce the true value of it! I had that same feeling when I was visiting "Temple of Tooth" in my country last month! Nice photography and you have a good sense about those ruins as well!

Cheers~

A lot of history with that lantern.

The Stone Lantern of Godalsa Temple Place is definitely exquisite, so many history behind the lantern the lion statue beneath makes it even more amazing. Wonderful shot here @slowwalker

@slowwalker, There were some amazing relics. These carving style impressive with mysterious animals.

In my opinion, the relics could preserve their value when they kept their original place.

Completely agree with you. Reduced value some lantern transferred other location. There architecture so powerful.

Everything is so preserve there still reminds us of old days

That are beautiful stone lantern, I found them very interesting and still nowadays very practical. Made of sand stone they may look with the fire lights.

The lantern with lions are very unusual but made with the love to beauty and details :)

I like it very much.

Wow........... Awesome place ..lovely photoshoot my dear friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66546.31
ETH 3589.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93