Exploring Malta – Scraping the Bottom of the Barrel!

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Last year we visited Malta, and I have posted several times about our trip in 2018.

We had a few photographs left that were either not good enough to write about, had my fingers on the edges of them (damn phone cameras!), or maybe were just not interesting enough.

IMG_3868.jpg

I see enough posts knocking about that contain just one or two photographs so decided to lump these all together with what remains of my memories of Malta.

BlueG-Map.JPG

At some point in the holiday with visited the Blue Grotto on the south of the island. The weather had been great but this day a storm seemed to be approaching from the west.

The ‘trip’ takes around 25 minutes in which we were sat in a cranky looking motorboat and hoisted around the coast's edge.

IMG_3873.jpg

@bingbabe is a poor sailor and struggled with the urge to barf in very choppy waters while we were getting to the main event which was fortunately, not far away.

IMG_3850.jpg

IMG_3857.jpg

Ours was one of the last trips as they closed it due to the threat from the west. Even with a storm coming, the waters appeared very blue and I got some nice shots in the sea caves.

IMG_3885.jpg

That’s about all I got though, 50 photographs that looked all the same and the reason why I have not posted this story before now.


-SML-divider.png

MelliehaBay.JPG

Mellieha Bay (Ghadira Bay) I believe is not one of the top tourist places, but we did stay there. Walking across the bay in the daytime heat was challenging..., and so we just didn't.

IMG_3910.jpg

A car was needed not because we are lazy bastards, it was just too hot. The church (how many churches are there in Malta!) was on the other side of the bay up a huge hill (another reason not to walk), and @bingbabe being a Catholic had to go in and have a look.

IMG_3900.jpg

IMG_3903.jpg

IMG_3908.jpg

I have to say, the architecture is impressive and there’s lots of it in Malta.

IMG_3904.jpg

@bingbabe did go in this large building and got terrible looks from the locals as she was ‘bare-armed’. It fell short of her being unceremoniously turfed out, but I did get a laugh about that.

IMG_3911.jpg

IMG_3916.jpg

This graveyard caught my attention with the amount of detail, attention and likely cost set aside for loved ones after death.

IMG_3905.jpg

I can’t say I have ever seen this in the UK where you are simply burnt in a coffin and your ashes spilled over the grounds.

IMG_3909.jpg

It shows to me the stark differences in culture of the Maltese people compared to the English.

Some of the remembrance plaques were relatively recent, and there were no signs of vandalism. I wouldn’t like to guess how long this would remain intact if in a public place here.

IMG_3918.jpg

These photographs have been hanging around in my pending stories folder for a good 9 months.

IMG_3907.jpg

It feels good to have finally found some use for them, dodgy fingers and all.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I never made it to Malta but seeing all these shots makes me wish I had what a beautiful country with such amazing scenery
It may sound morbid but I often visit cemeteries in places I travel the care that families take in the graves of their loved ones often tells a lot about a country

For a country ruled so long by the brits, Im seeing changes. The road signs are in English, but also another language that looks like Arabic, though I guess its Maltese.

The Island is very close to Africa, so I shouldn't be surprised.

if I remember rightly Maltese have there own language as a second language after English and is a variant of Arabic
I went to most of the countries all around Malta, but never made it there, it must be cool to see the changes I guess

got terrible looks from the locals as she was ‘bare-armed’.

I'm not disputing it, but how do you know this was the reason? (Just wondering.) Reminds me of how (the British, I think) threw a fit because Michelle Obama wore a sleeveless dress in (gasp!!) the presence of The Queen.

I think some people just need a chance to get over it already, ok? (Sorry. I really have no patience with any of this.)

While I'm not certain we did ask at the hotel what was the accepted dress code for churches, and mentioned the incident. They told us it was very likely this..

Maybe if she was twerking in the face of the crucified Jesus, they might have some kick coming, otherwise AFAIC, they can just smile & STFU. (You can tell her I said so.) (:-Þ~~~

I see. My opinion remains. (See above.)

I am the most non religious person you will ever meet, and prefer the architecture to the opinions others have. Can't say I like this either, but if your in other countries you need to respect their beliefs or just keep away. You can end up in jail in some for doing otherwise..

I know. Going out of your way to be a jerk is one thing, but if you're behaving yourself, enjoying the culture, have everything that usually needs covering covered ... you shouldn't have to put up with some old biddies with a stick up their ass. (Again, you can quote me.)

'old biddies'

That's a very British term, surely nicked from the 'cat'? ;)

Let's say it's my way of being cosmopolitan. (grin)

Nice shots! This looks like it would be a beautiful place to visit! I think I remember your original stories about the trip. It was nice to revisit that.

More like lots of finger shots! I’m trying to post some half stories I wrote some from last year. They start adding up after a while.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sounds like a plan. I wish I had some of those, but I think I just post what I can and hope it is enough!

"It feels good to have finally found some use for them, dodgy fingers and all."

I know right! I always hate to "waste" a photo. I feel it it was good enough to take, by God I am going to use it lol.

What a gorgeous location!

Those caves look like those out of pirate stories that think they have some treasure within them! Love the architecture!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The caves and the sea look beautiful, some lovely shots.

Thanks, I wish I had taken more shots of other things,... the boat and people almost falling off it etc.., I do these days but your journalism skills increase over time.

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #490.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=slobberchops
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-malta-scraping-the-bottom-of-the-barrel


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @elsaenroute and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87