Euro truck roadtrip. part 2

in #travel8 years ago (edited)


click here for part 1

Our initial destination was supposed to be Gr.Britain,a yogurt cargo from Φαγε(faye) a Greek milk products manufacturer.Or at least that is how the day ended yesterday.But what my understanding as to what describes best the truck drivers profession is that nothing must be taken for granted.Well I am fine with that,this looks more like the life I was used to.A good friend and a long road was always my biggest motivation in life.feels like the clocks are set 15 years back,I am already feeling relaxed. And the trip have not began yet.

The time is 7:30(-2gmt) I was getting my coffee on my favorite place at 85stcafe,having a conversation with some friends there, showing them of what steemit can do when my phone rings,it is Nontas a Greek professional driver that will be both mine and your captain on this trip.We are friends for several years he is the husband of my lone sister and a father of two children.I have complete trust to his driving skills this is going to be a carefree trip for me.

He is coming to pick me up with his car, we are heading to Aspropyrgos one of the most under developed Athenian regions, with some of the worst roads imaginable.A place like that is the track hive at Attiki.That is so Greek to me it does not surprise me the slightest. Time is now at 9:00 o-clock (-2gmt) he have arrived ,I see him with his rav4 outside the coffee shop as he parks.I pick up my bags I hit the car fasten my seat-belt and off we go.30 minutes later we arrived our destination.The truck was in for service inspection and gets a fresh paint job after the damages he had on his previous trip as he explained to me during our time there.A broken tire had damaged the framing of the truck and some restorations was necessary for it to be permitted to depart.


It looks shiny it is a Scania r680 I have no idea of spec other than it is 16000cc and 680 hp.
He seemed pretty relaxed as he is getting informed that his initial schedule for Gr.Britain is canceled and he is now scheduled to 29th of july for Paris
Well lucky me.Paris France is one of this places you just have to go.I feel blessed I get to see it.My Nikon can't wait.
The procedure of safety inspection was very slow and time consuming but vital for a trip of over 5000 km.we had to drive to pick up some spare parts for the truck that was missing from the technicians to finish the job and so we did.On the road again,Athens Attiki is not a place you want to find yourself sitting on a car without a working A/C,that I can tell you.It was a boiling hot day.
The time was flying by it was already 2:30 we spend so much time on the road wondering around half Athens to collect those parts.After we got everything needed we went back for the final inspect and get the Truck loaded.after that it was time for a brake.
He will call me if anything unexpected happens and we have to change plans and departure sooner.I only hope I will get to go to Paris.that hyped me to be honest.

I will update if I get more about this story.it might take some days.Stay tuned and follow me.
No need to up-vote,wait for me to return with actual content.
I ll have new experiences,stories and ideas to share with you.

So it just comes down to my hat my book my camera and a notepad.(if you where wondering were the camera is?Think again)
I am ready.the phone can't ring soon enough
see you on the road.
Best regards
@skapaneas aka Aggelos Rossidis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63894.70
ETH 3178.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63