Sjennon sees the World #44 - Attending an Indian Wedding!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

"Hey, I have a friend's wedding tomorrow, wanna come?" - @varunpinto

YES. YES I DO.

header.png

I am not the white and tall one -- photocredits go to @varunpinto

I have to disappoint you all though, I did not wear the gifted saree. Why? Because I had to catch a flight later that day, and I don't think rushing to the airport in a saree would be the best idea if I would run late.

We arrived, there was a big ass stage in the front packed with people - literally P A C K E D.

Like what y'all doing up there?

Well, apparently the wedding is up there. The rituals, everything is held there. Which is kinda cutesy! Unfortunately, they had about 8 photographers blocking the view as seen on the picture below.

I guess that would result in some nice clicks though..

The food

YES FOOD. What is an Indian wedding, or actually any wedding without food. And it was gooooooood -- except for this one thing:

It was some kind of leaf with some mush in it. I have no idea what it is and I am not enticed to try it anytime soon again! It tasted like, well, leaf. And bitterness.

I did make it to the aftermovie, though.

WOULD YOU LOOK AT MY HALF A SECOND OF FAME?!!1!1!!

And so did @varunpinto's back of his head. Eeehehe.

WhatsApp Image 2018-04-28 at 21.41.45.jpeg

It was a great experience

It really was. I was a bit confused by the actual marriage part where I could barely see anything though, but overall the vibe was nice. I met some of @varunpinto's cool friends who welcomed me very nicely.

I also met the groom and bride, well, sort of. I shook their hand, congratulated them and then planned to leave the stage again before the bride's father grabbed my hand and thanked me humbly for coming.

Next time, hopefully, I will get to attend a full Indian wedding. I am talking about the entire week - and especially looking forward to the day where they do the mehndi and the dancing.

Thanks, @varunpinto, for taking me!

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, India, Indonesia and the USA (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

wow thats a cool invite! Id love to be gifted a saree and eat some leaves in india....well done for going along! you must be having ALL the fun culture shocks. I think i need some culture shocks in my life sometime soon......

The leaf actually had some goo in it but I didn't even get to that part, haha.

Still stick in gray GB?

ooooh! goooo! Thats why it was so boring, you didn't get to the good part! hehe. Still in GB. Not going ANYWHERE soon, but life is good, Im a happy bunny :)

It might have been a different experience for you being someone from a western country. One day, I hope I will be able to witness a marriage of someone from your country. I've watched few of them in YouTube. The discipline you guys follow in those marriage functions is incredible!

It's really simple in my opinion, especially compared to Indian weddings!

Did the bride decorate her hands with henna?
I did attend a wedding a few years ago and was stunned about the art on her hands

Yes, she did! However that was done on a day prior to this day :)

A wedding ritual is always special 👰🏽🤵🏽

It sure is!

something tells me you know how to live (-:

Ha, I am trying :D

I photographed the Diwali celebrations twice and I must say I see the same decorations! So many colors, love them !!!

Ooh diwali is awesome. So many lights!

buahahahahaha.. eat the freaking paan

Awesome @sjennon, glad you enjoyed being a part of an Indian Wedding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46