Sjennon sees the World #43 - Trying on my Gifted Saree! [When a White Chick wears a Saree]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

When I was in Delhi, I had received a saree as a gift from @things' mom

Now, back in Mangalore @geetharao, a woman who is an incredible sweetheart, managed to finish my saree outfit with a petticoat and a top.

header.png

A sari, saree, or shari is a female garment from the Indian subcontinent[1] that consists of a drape varying from five to nine yards (4.5 metres to 8 metres) in length and two to four feet (60 cm to 1.20 m) in breadth that is typically wrapped around the waist, with one end draped over the shoulder, baring the midriff. - Wikipedia

I absolutely love the saree and it's print. I really do prefer a darker color as super fancy, colorful colors don't really match well with pale ass skin. Besides that, the print is nice and neutral and one important key factor: no glitter. Yes, I am a girl. No, I am not girly.

The fabric of the saree was a really nice and fragile one. It is semi-translucent blue and feels really gentle on the skin. And a bit slippery. I just need to wear it a bit lower as I have loong long legs.

So when the set was finally done and ready, there was nothing else to do but to try it on!

Obviously, my ass was a bit shy.

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, India, Indonesia and the USA (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

Oh! You look great wearing the pretty Indian sari!! :)

You definitely look gorgeous in the saree @sjennon ! I never really tried saree myself before as it has a little too much work for me to wear it. So I have decided to opt for borrowing Punjabi's traditional wear instead during my former colleague's engagement celebration.

I have heard there is a compromised (or more to say, improved) saree versions in Malaysia where it allows non-regular saree wearing individuals to slip on the saree in an easier fashion and the sides won't slide off easily. I wonder does Mangalore have an option for that?

Thank you! I really appreciate hearing that, however in my opinion it's quite weird for caucasians to wear it. I feel it doesn't show off as nice as it does on a darker skin. Mostly due to the colors I think.

What kind of improved saree are you talking about? Sounds interesting! Though, Indian fashion has a lot of variety. Not sure if it's applied or acceptable.

Good travel @sjenon. May i hope be enjoy and happy.

Wow she was looking cute in saree 😍😘

Wow, that is a nice saree outfit, incredible, here in Nigeria lady and women do wear different outfit

You are looking great in saree. For indian womens this is the best outfit for them.

Thanks! It sure is a pretty but a hassle to keep it nice!

Its a good thing that we can learn different dressing styles on steemit, thanks for sharing It helps for those that havent or wont travel there :)

You're welcome!

cool look. I wear a saree when I go outside and I can tell you sure look great in it.

Aah, thank you so much! I appreciate it hearing from you!

you are very beautiful friends, I am amazed with your journey, I hope to be like you friends, hope your day is fun, I will always see your journey, may you also success always yes.

Hi @sjennon... looking cute in that saree... 😘💞

Thanks auntie!

Thanks auntie!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54