Sjennon sees the World #42 - Why Indians go Swimming in Clothes

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

One of the things I've noticed during my stay in India is that people do not swim in swimwear

Why wear a bikini or swimming shorts when you can just walk into the water in your saree?

header.png

So @varunpinto and me went a day out to the beach. Just watching people, sitting some, chilling some, walking some..

That is when it occurred to me that no one is wearing swimwear.

Obviously, my first reaction was..

I mean even the lifeguard, you know, the person who is supposed to keep an eye out on the beach? The guy who is supposed to be in hot, sexy swimshorts and a carries whistle. The person who has a surfboard to get and safe to people in distress. Yes, that one!

Well, I think the description above describes him perfectly.


I bet they all got sand in their pants

Socially unacceptable

So apparently, showing skin is a big thing. Showing skin or even body-hugging clothing is definitely frowned upon, especially if you're female. According to my friends from conservative families, you're seen as a sl-t, as soon as you show some skin. Shorts? Don't be crazy. Tank tops? What a wh-re. Let alone bikinis or even a bathing suit, oh no, that is too much skin or body shape showing.

So instead, they just walk in with clothes.

I really wonder how much they would love swimwear when they realize it's not heavy and dries wat faster than cotton. I know I love not swimming in clothes.

Let me hear your thoughts!

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, India, Indonesia and the USA (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

Actually, we give most of the bikini importance in Goa only, so it was a most of us wish to visit Goa once in a lifetime. If it available everywhere the what is the specialty of Goa ?😋

I don't think Indians are allowed to wear bikini there.

Yeah!

Theyre not allowed to wear bikini in Goa?

I bet Goa has a lot more things to offer than just bikinis though! Would make me think all the perverts would go to Goa just to watch chicks in bikinis :(

Haha! That's funny, right? In India, if you show up in a bikini or swimwear other people will look at you as if you are an alien. This does not happen a lot on a few beaches in Goa though. :-D Women are mostly shy because of the constant staring(by both men and other women) that happens.

There is another reason - we do not have many people who work out regularly to have that sassy beach body ;) We eat a lot and it shows on our muscles. :-P I hope this changes for us very soon!

Yeah, it's crazy!

I guess Goa is a different story, but still. It's super hot in most places and you're not even socially allowed to wear some swimwear? That's crazy.

Don't think Europeans or Americans have the average amazing body either! Nonetheless, we just go swim!

That's so bizarre; I bet they think the same if they go on a beach in Europe and see people in swimwear. It just shows how culture influences us.
Have a great vacation !

I think they will get the shock of their life with how shameless we are! Funny how cultures clash indeed.

Cheers!

hahaha if we wear bikini and go instead of watching sunset, people will be more curious or do photo shoot of the one who is wearing bikini :P society tho :D And we are not supposed to roam in public places wearing such clothes its a crime :') if we wear shorts and go we get comments forget bikini (personal experience)

Haha, maybe. However, if we go out to watch the sunset and we see people in bikini, we'd still want to see the sunset. I guess it's just what people are used to!

The only benefit I got is, "oh, she's wearing short clothes, but she's a foreigner. Still a tramp tho"

I am too conservative to even comment. 😝
Btw your blogs are rich why don't you try making vlogs ☺

Aah, yet here you are in my comment section, hihi! Would love to hear your opinion though.

And yes, I've been thinking about that but I don't know. Maybe I will do that later - I am a bit shy hehe.

That shy nature may attract us.Dont think Just do it! 😁

Aah, yet here you are in my comment section, hihi! Would love to hear your opinion though.

And yes, I've been thinking about that but I don't know. Maybe I will do that later - I am a bit shy hehe.

Oh wow how interesting! Did not know that I wouldnt be able to swim with all that fabric

Yeah.. Makes you sink right to the bottom. However, majority of my Indian friends do not know how to swim and I wouldn't be surprised if they would just to knee high into the water.

Yeah.. Makes you sink right to the bottom. However, majority of my Indian friends do not know how to swim and I wouldn't be surprised if they would just to knee high into the water.

It's curious and interesting, but hey, everything is part of the culture!

That's very true! Very interesting to compare the opposites.

May be this is due to lack of education and living in a orthodox family where rituals are strictly followed by them. In our family too my mother is not allowed to wear salwar, she is allowed to wear saree only, which is quiet disturbing for me as I feel very bad for my mom. Although ,gradually this trend is changing.

Yeah, maybe. Majority though has this opinion. However, with this generation I hope to see more changes towards acceptance of less conservative things.

Really? Socially unacceptable, but that’s not too comfy! Also they’re missing the freedom of swimming... at least, this is the feeling I get everytime I swim

I know! Have you ever tried diving? It's super funny too - looking up and down. It's like flying!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38