Sjennon sees the World #2 - Petting kitties at Cat Brothers Cafe in Chiang Mai, Thailand

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Without internet, unfortunately I can't spend all my precious time staring at my Cryptokitty, but I found a wonderful replacement - actual kitties!

After having a lovely omelette breakfast, we decided to go for something new. I mean, we can always roam around, right? And I have never been to a cat cafe, so this was our chance!


Source

There are a few cat cafe's in Chiang Mai, however we didn't want to go to one too far. Luckily for us, there was one on walking distance from the place where we had breakfast, so there we went.

The cats are at the second floor, however downstairs is the actual cafe part where you can have some ice cream or a drink. If you grab a drink here, you don't have to pay an entry fee of 100 Baht. Though, a drink can be 55 Baht so it is worth to hang around for a bit and treat yourself to a nice beverage or dessert.

Along with ordering your drink, you can buy a plastic cup of cat food for 20 Baht - highly recommended as it gives you more interaction with the cats and some literally come running to you when you shake the cup.

Apparently, someone was super eager to be pet, because Kumi decided to come down with some visitors who were just leaving. He was a slightly cross-eyed ball of fluff!

After finishing our drink and done petting Kumi, it was time we went up. On our way up, we also found a poster with some groundrules when it came to the cats.

Once we got up, the place was clean and, obviously, a bunch of cats.

There was quite some variety when it came to breeds and ages and I was suprised to see the amount of cats - there were quite a lot! Some were sleeping, some were playing or snuggling up. Just try it out to interact with the cats, some were less comfortable being petted instantly :)

Remember the cat food you could buy at the counter? Try shaking it a little!

I tried looking up the origin of these cats, but I was unable to find it - if anyone has more information about this, please share!

divider

Cat Brothers Cafe
25 ต.ศรีภูมิ อ.เมืองเชียงใหม่ จ.เชียงใหม่
50200 Amphoe Muang Chiang Mai
Thailand

www.facebook.com/CatBrothersCafe

Click on the image to go to Google Maps

!steemitworldmap 18.7951908 lat 98.9891834 long Petting kitties at Cat Brothers Cafe D3SCR

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, New Zealand and Australia (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

All the upvotes for the kitties! Especially that one with the duo colored eyes or Heterochromia as I believe the scientists call it- your photos are stunning, great job, I know animal photos are not always easy!

Ah yes. He was beautiful! Also had a funky left ear but he was a ball of for sure!

dawww cats are the best <3- also, their purrs increase bone density in humans! So glad you got your daily dose! ;)

Oh, I think I got plenty for the rest of the week :D

I love that cat!! I find Heterochromia a beautiful mutation that makes that cat special.

absolutely! some humans even have it too- stunning!

yeap I know :) it s just thrilling me !

Nice post but i’m not really sure how i feel about this, it’s like the cats are there as circus animals although they seem wel maintained... i’m never the biggest fan of using animals for entertainment purpouses i guess...
Other than that, have fun and safe travels!

Yeah, I tried looking up where the cats were from, but couldn't find any information. I do know however, that in a different cat cafe, they have ex-stray cats and get properly fed get the attention they need.

They were also able to exit the room, by the way. They didn't have to sit in common room.

Thanks!

That’s a good thing then! 🙂

Tub Cat was very excited to see your post and even more excited to see how well crafted your post is. Well done for creating such excellent content! Tub Cat may be a little biased however due to the presence of CATS in your post.

Tub Cat enjoys being fed by humans just as much as he enjoys stealing food off famous celebrities. So I'm certain Tub Cat would love the life of leisure that these kitties are able to lead in this lovely little cafe.

TUB CAT OUT!

Hahah, thank you so much! Enjoyed reading your comment a lot :D Maybe you can visit the leisure kitties every once in awhile.

WOW! nice angles.. Keep it up!

Nice... angles?

Wow that's great.
Different different breed of cat so nice.
Upvote
Follow
Resteem
Done

Yes! It was fun to see that :D thanks!

We need this in the uk !!!! Nice post btw 🙌

we have one in derby already and one in nottingham.

how you liking chang mai?

Yeah, pretty laid back actually :D Didnt get to spend a lot of time there because we already left to Mae Sot (at the border of Thailand and Myanmar). The people seemed really nice though.

Funny to see the electricity poles and cables going throughout the entire town. Things can look old and shitty, but then randomly there's a golden temple next to it. Also there are a lot of schools, colleges etc. Uber is also super cheap by the way. Cheaper than the local taxis/tuktuks!

You started already?! Nice! Backpacking the world kind of sounds like the beginning of an awesome story! Safe travels and enjoy!

Swing by to India with @firepower!

Yes! This is my second day, haha.

And I hope so! Thank you so much :D If everything works out, @firepower should visit me!

I guess he is! Safe travels and have fun!

good post.
and your trip would be great fun. Have a nice day. and I will always follow you friend.
thanks for sharing. you look really pretty tonight ...

Thank you!

Yes you are welcome

Waaaant! And a kitty, of course. Have fun!

Kitttiiiieees!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60875.99
ETH 3386.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57