Siem Reap - Cambodia

in #travel7 years ago

I visited Siem Reap during one of the hottest month ever in that year, I was told the temperature was around 42 degrees Celsius. When I walked out of the plane that landed on Siem Reap-Angkor International Airport, I could feel the heat wave blasting into my face. It was mid-afternoon and the sun was happily bombarding ultraviolet rays on the tarmac and everything else not under a shade. The walk from the plane to the airport terminal was like a sauna, sweat oozing out from my skin and very soon I was soaked.

The next thing was the dust, it’s much like a bad day with terrible haze but visually you noticed a yellowish colour in the air all around you. If you plan to visit remember to bring surgical mask and battery powered portable fan!!

DSC00930.jpg
Angkor Wat - UNESCO world heritage site

DSC00785.jpg
Public transport

Similar to Thailand’s tuk tuk, but slightly different as the passengers sat in some sort of wagon and towed by the motorcycle. Price starts at USD5 for a very short trip, you can bargain for cheaper rates but do it before getting on the ride.

DSC00826.jpg
Friendly people of Cambodia

DSC00822.jpg
If you haven't melt from the scorching heat the smile from this lady will melt you completely

DSC00875.jpg
Shops selling kramas (a type of scarves made locally from cotton and silk)

DSC00855.jpg

There are many temples in Siem Reap, the one above is located in the middle of the forest, lit up with spotlights as a prop for dinner arranged by the hotel. Oh yea one more thing to bring along for your trip is mosquito repellent if you don't want to be bitten when you have dinner in the forest like I did.

DSC00920.jpg
Countless stone wall carvings found all over Angkor Wat

DSC00918.jpg
Signs of wear and tear

DSC00943.jpg
A sword fight perhaps?

DSC00901.jpg
Mythical

I noticed a lot of restoration work taking place all around the temples, in some places it is noticeable that the ancient and the newly restored stones are trying very hard to blend together.

DSC00945.jpg
The outer walls of Angkor Wat

As you can see, the stone walls are yellowish colour due to dust, after a few days walking around Siem Reap you will notice your shoes turning into this colour as well.

DSC00959.jpg
The main crossing towards Angkor Wat

Angkor Wat is surrounded by water, there are 2 crossing (East and West entrance if my sense of direction is correct) that leads to the center which the five towers stands, it's a long walk from start to finish so wear proper shoes and bring lots of drinking water.

I enjoyed my trip there, especially learning about the history of the temples, each having its own century old stories covering the conflicts between the Siamese and Khmer kingdoms, a few round of beers and our tour guide was tell me stories of gods fighting demons and stuff, not sure if its the beer talking but nonetheless all in all a captivating experience for me.

Sort:  

Looks absolutely beautiful. Thanks. @shlimmm

The photos are gorgeous. @shlimmm

Thank you for reading :) @tuyetthi

Been there and it was a memory for life! what a structure. read my travel blog if you got time over ;D

I like your Tokyo travel blog @landeberg

Thank you! Tokyo is one of my favourite places in the world!

I hope to travel all 47 prefectures of Japan someday and write about it in steemit XD

That would be something!!

Great pictures! Can't wait to go :D

Upvoted for you @shlimmm. Awesome pics !

It must have been a very memorable trip. Upvoted and resteemed :)

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 0.36 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @bitrocker2020.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shlimmm from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I love Angkor, visited it 2 times already :)

XD yup I would love to revisit some day

What a nice post 🤗 I can't believe you were there in such heat! I visited in November of last year. The weather was still hot but definitely not at stifling as you described.

Angkor Wat was a truly magical place to me. I wrote about it recently here on Steemit.

You have a nice account, following and upvoted


Together, let’s build a wonderful
💙 Steemit Community 💙

Thank you @faceofbear
Have followed you too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65